AVOne Pager
Broadcom Inc. AVGO
At $368.45, 25.6% below its high, Broadcom trades at 61.4x trailing GAAP earnings and 18.8x FY2027 consensus, and both numbers are correct.
Everything between those two numbers gets tested on September 2, when consensus asks for $29.2B of revenue, up 31.8% in a single quarter.
Key data
AVGO · price with moving averages
Source: market data.
The business
Broadcom sells two things. Semiconductors: networking switches and custom AI accelerators that the largest cloud companies use to build training clusters, plus wireless chips inside Apple phones and a long tail of storage and broadband silicon. And infrastructure software, mostly VMware, mainframe tooling and security, sold to large enterprises on multi-year subscriptions. Chips are paid per program and per unit; software is billed as a recurring subscription, which is why $14.2B sits in deferred revenue.
The engine is the custom accelerator business, which turns a hyperscaler's decision to build its own AI chip rather than buy Nvidia's into actual silicon, and it is what moves the stock. Revenue has stepped up every quarter, $15.95B, $18.02B, $19.31B, $22.19B, with April gross margin of 67.2% and operating margin of 49.0%. What changed is VMware, bought with $126.1B of goodwill and intangibles and repriced onto subscription.
Business read. A lumpy, customer-concentrated silicon ramp bolted to a software annuity, financed with $45.3B of net debt.
Things you might not know
Broadcom's trailing twelve month effective tax rate is 3.8%, and FY2025 carried an outright tax benefit of $397M rather than an expense. Normalizing to 15% would take trailing earnings per share from about $6.18 to about $5.43, roughly 12%, with nothing operating changed. That normalization is the source author's computation, not a company disclosure.
The board approved a CEO performance award on 2025-09-03 covering 610,521 target shares that pays zero unless AI product revenue exceeds $60B, and pays 300% of target above $120B in any four consecutive quarters between fiscal 2028 and fiscal 2030. The CEO's long-term pay is now indexed to AI revenue itself.
Broadcom beat consensus in each of the last four reported quarters by 1.8%, 4.3%, 1.0% and 1.7%. Beats that small are a guidance style rather than luck, since the company guides to a number it intends to clear. It also means the September 2 print carries almost no built-in cushion.
Fundamentals
| Measure | QoQ | YoY |
|---|---|---|
| Revenue | +14.9%, April $22.19B vs January $19.31B | +24%, FY2025 $63.9B vs FY2024 $51.6B |
| Operating income | not disclosed | +88.9%, $25.5B vs $13.5B |
| GAAP diluted EPS | not disclosed | +287.8%, $4.77 vs $1.23 |
| Free cash flow | not disclosed | +38.7%, $26.9B vs $19.4B |
| Stock compensation | not disclosed | +31.9%, $7.57B vs $5.74B |
The source report publishes quarterly detail only for revenue and margins, so the year-over-year column is fiscal year as filed. FY2025 grew revenue 24% and nearly doubled operating income as the first full year of VMware amortization and a $3.7B tax expense rolled out of the comparison. Free cash flow outran GAAP earnings by a wide margin, and stock compensation grew faster than revenue.
Valuation
| Metric | Company | Peer median |
|---|---|---|
| Trailing GAAP P/E | 61.4x | not disclosed |
| Forward P/E, FY2026 consensus non-GAAP EPS $11.59 | 31.8x | not disclosed |
| Forward P/E, FY2027 consensus non-GAAP EPS $19.56 | 18.8x | not disclosed |
| Operating margin, April quarter | 49.0% | not disclosed |
| Stock compensation as percent of revenue, FY2025 | 11.8% | not disclosed |
Peers: Nvidia is the only peer named in the source report; the adjacent set is AMD, Marvell, Qualcomm and Texas Instruments.
The source publishes no peer medians and no vendor peer data was retrievable in this session, so the peer column is left honest rather than filled. Trailing 61.4x and forward 18.8x are the same company on two accounting bases: one carries $7.57B of stock compensation and VMware amortization, the other removes both.
Management
| Measure | Record |
|---|---|
| Capital allocation | FY2025 paid $11.14B of dividends and repurchased $6.31B, $17.5B combined against $26.9B of free cash flow, a 65% payout; capital spending $0.6B against $8.8B of D&A |
| Diluted shares | 4,270M in FY2023 to 4,853M in FY2025, mostly shares issued for VMware; post-deal drift 4,853M to 4,876M, roughly 1.5% a year |
| Insider activity (12mo) | Director and co-founder Henry Samueli sold about 333,000 shares on 2026-06-24 across nine tranches, $377.61 to $385.57, about $127M, retaining 36.59M; Mark Brazeal sold 25,000 shares on each of three dates in June and July at $387.00, $379.19 and $401.33, about $29M; directors Justine Page and Gayla Delly sold small amounts; no open-market purchases |
Compensation
| Horizon | Goals | Outcome |
|---|---|---|
| Annual cash, FY2025 | Hock Tan carries no annual cash bonus target; salary $1,200,000. Other named officers carried a target of 100% of eligible earnings on the prior proxy's basis | Tan bonus $0. FY2025 total pay $205.3M, of which $202,351,080 stock awards, $1,200,000 salary and $1,726,926 other. FY2025 payout percentages for the other named officers not disclosed in materials retrieved |
| Long-term, 2023 PSU Award granted 2022-10-31 | Shares earned only between the third and fifth anniversaries of grant, and only if the 20-trading-day average closing price meets pre-established per-share hurdles; maximum grant-date fair value about $161M | Earning period runs to 2027-10-31, so no shares were earned or forfeited as of the proxy filed 2026-03-03. No CEO long-term award reached the end of its earning period in fiscal 2025 |
The linchpins
Win big if
Consensus needs $29.2B on September 2, up 31.8% sequentially off a base that just grew 14.9%, and that is precisely the number custom accelerator programs ramping into volume would produce. The first observable proof is the revenue line itself clearing $29B on September 2. The confirming signal is a November guide pointing to a further step up and keeping FY2026 near the $105.7B consensus, after which 18.8x FY2027 stops reading as an estimate and starts reading as a run rate.
Surprised down if
The AI silicon revenue is real but lumpy and concentrated in a handful of programs with a handful of buyers, and Broadcom does not break out per-customer revenue, so one program slipping a quarter takes roughly $5B out of the print with no cushion at 31.8x this year's number. The first observable proof is September revenue below roughly $27B, or a guide implying FY2026 revenue below $100B. The confirming signal is stock compensation still near 11.8% of revenue against buybacks near $6B while the 3.8% tax rate normalizes toward the mid-teens, cutting earnings about 12%.
Last word
A quarter needing 31.8% sequential growth lands September 2, and the co-founder booked his $127M exit back in June.
Methodology
Compressed from the Back of Napkin on Broadcom dated 2026-08-22, which sources financials from the Form 10-K filed 2025-12-18 (fiscal year ended 2025-11-02) and the Form 10-Q filed 2026-06-09 (quarter ended 2026-05-03), insider transactions from Forms 4 filed through 2026-07-14, and consensus, trailing ratios and the earnings calendar from a market data vendor as of 2026-08-22 at the 2026-08-21 close. Consensus EPS are the street's non-GAAP convention and labeled where compared to GAAP. Tax normalization and back-half revenue arithmetic are the source author's computations. Compensation figures come from Broadcom's DEF 14A filed 2026-03-03, the Form 8-K filed 2022-11-02 describing the 2023 PSU Award, and the Form 8-K filed 2025-09-09 describing the 2025-09-03 CEO award; SEC full-text retrieval returned HTTP 403 in this session, so those items rest on search-returned extracts of those filings. Peer medians and the fiscal 2025 annual bonus payout percentages for non-CEO officers were not obtained and are marked not disclosed. Not investment advice.
Bid Cap
Daily ideas, a 390-name database, and a model long/short book from an investor who mostly covers financials. $70 a month or $700 a year.
Subscribe on Substack

