CROne Pager
Salesforce, Inc. CRM
Written 2026-08-22. The company has filed a quarterly or annual report since, on 2026-08-27, so figures here predate its latest disclosure.
At $209.17 Salesforce trades on an 8.6% free cash flow yield, and last year it returned 99% of that cash flow to shareholders while retiring 1.8% of the shares.
The whole question is whether 9.6% revenue growth is the floor for a maturing franchise or the first step down toward something lower, and the next data point lands on 2026-08-26.
Key data
CRM · price with moving averages
Source: market data.
The business
Salesforce sells the software that a company's sales, service, and marketing departments run on. A representative logs a call, a manager watches a pipeline, a marketing team fires a campaign, and all of it lands in one customer database. Buyers are large enterprises paying per seat per month on multi-year contracts, which is where the switching costs and the $14.4B of free cash flow come from.
Over two decades the company bought its way into adjacent categories: Tableau for analytics, Slack for messaging, MuleSoft for integration, and most recently Informatica for data management, $9.3B of it closing in fiscal 2026 alone. What changed is the engine. Operating income went from $1.0B to $8.9B in three years on revenue up 32%, an activist-driven cost reset that is now largely finished, so growth has to come from revenue.
Business read. A per-seat cash machine with the margin already taken, now selling software that can reduce seats.
Things you might not know
Repurchases ran 3.6x the shares issued to employees: $12.6B of buybacks against $3.5B of stock compensation. Diluted share count fell from 974M to 956M, down 1.8% in a year and 4.1% over three. Most large software companies run this ratio the other way.
Tangible book value is negative $36.53 per share, the residue of twenty years of acquisitions, with debt to equity at 1.22x. Interest coverage is 20.8x and free cash flow covers everything, so the entire value here is the earnings stream and nothing underneath it.
The last four reported quarters beat consensus earnings by 5%, 14%, 25%, and 24%, with actuals of $2.91, $3.25, $3.81, and $3.88 against estimates of $2.78, $2.86, $3.05, and $3.13. Beating by a quarter twice running means guidance is conservative or estimates are stale.
Fundamentals
| Measure | QoQ | YoY |
|---|---|---|
| Revenue, fiscal year ($41.5B) | not disclosed | +9.6% |
| Operating income, fiscal year ($8.9B) | not disclosed | +23.6% |
| GAAP diluted EPS, fiscal year ($7.80) | not disclosed | +22.6% |
| Non-GAAP EPS, last two reported quarters ($3.88 vs $3.81) | +1.8% | not disclosed |
| Free cash flow, fiscal year ($14.4B) | not disclosed | +16.1% |
Every line grew faster than revenue last year, which is the cost reset finishing rather than demand accelerating. Quarterly comparisons are marked not disclosed because the source note works off fiscal-year filings and the next print lands 2026-08-26, four days out. The one sequential figure available is non-GAAP EPS, up 1.8% to $3.88.
Valuation
| Metric | Company | Peer median |
|---|---|---|
| Trailing P/E, GAAP diluted | 24.2x | not disclosed |
| Free cash flow yield | 8.6% | not disclosed |
| Enterprise value to FY2026 revenue | 4.9x | not disclosed |
| Gross margin, FY2026 | 77.6% | not disclosed |
| Operating margin, GAAP, FY2026 | 21.5% | not disclosed |
Peer set for this comparison: Oracle, SAP, Adobe, ServiceNow, and Workday, all enterprise application software on the same as-reported basis.
Consensus for the year ending January 2028 is $15.63 on a non-GAAP basis from 32 analysts, which puts the stock at 13.4x that number against 24.2x trailing GAAP. Peer medians were not pulled in the source run and are not estimated here, so the company column stands alone on a consistent as-reported basis.
Management
| Measure | Record |
|---|---|
| Capital allocation | FY2026: $12.6B buybacks and $1.6B dividends, $14.2B against $14.4B of free cash flow, a 99% payout. Capital spending $594M. Also closed $9.3B of acquisitions during the year, funded partly with $5.4B of new debt. |
| Diluted shares | 997M (FY2023), 984M (FY2024), 974M (FY2025), 956M (FY2026). Down 1.8% in one year, 4.1% over three. Repurchases ran 3.6x the $3.5B of stock compensation. |
| Insider activity (12mo) | Marc Benioff sold 2,250 shares for $575,140 on 2025-10-23 under a Rule 10b5-1 plan at $254.8617 to $256.63, after exercising 2,250 options at $161.50. Direct holding after the trade: 11,911,571 shares. No open-market insider purchases identified in the period. |
Compensation
| Horizon | Goals | Outcome |
|---|---|---|
| Annual cash, fiscal 2026 | Two equally weighted metrics: subscription and support revenue target of $39,069M and non-GAAP income from operations target of $13,954M, adjustable plus or minus 25% by a strategic objectives multiplier, funding capped at 150% of target. | Revenue attainment 100.1%, weighted payout 100.9%. Non-GAAP income attainment 101.9%, weighted payout 105.6%. Fiscal 2026 payout for financial measures 103.3% of target. Strategic multiplier outcome not disclosed here. |
| Long-term, PRSUs granted April 2023, three-year period fiscal 2024 to fiscal 2026 | Relative total shareholder return versus the PRSU Index Group measured over the three-year period, plus non-GAAP operating margin goals set for each fiscal year in the period. | 63rd percentile TSR rank, 112.0% of target PRSUs earned. Shares vested 2026-04-22 subject to continuous employment. |
The linchpins
Win big if
Growth holds near 10% while the per-share engine keeps running, in which case the return is the 8.6% free cash flow yield plus a roughly 2% annual share count reduction plus whatever modest growth survives, with no need to underwrite an acceleration. The first observable proof is the 2026-08-26 print, where consensus sits at $3.27 on $11.33B: revenue growth near 10% and full-year guidance moving up. The confirming signal is revenue per customer rising while customer count holds, which would show the agent products are additive to the seat base rather than a substitute for it.
Surprised down if
Automation eats the thing being billed, because Salesforce sells agent software into exactly the departments whose headcount that software can reduce, and a service seat that no longer exists cannot be renewed at any price. The first observable proof is growth decelerating below 8% on 2026-08-26, or management disclosing organic growth materially below the reported 9.6% once the $9.3B of acquisitions closed during fiscal 2026 is stripped out. The confirming signal is buybacks falling below $8B as cash gets redirected toward more deals, which would remove the per-share engine at the same moment the base slows.
Last word
Salesforce returned 99% of its free cash flow last year, which is one way to answer questions about growth.
Methodology
Compressed from the Back of Napkin on Salesforce (CRM) dated 2026-08-22, which draws on the Form 10-K filed 2026-03-02 for the fiscal year ended 2026-01-31, prior annual filings, and market data as of 2026-08-22 at the 2026-08-21 close. Compensation goals and outcomes come from the fiscal 2026 DEF 14A filed 2026-04-16. Insider activity comes from the Form 4 covering Marc Benioff's 2025-10-23 transactions. Free cash flow is operating cash flow less purchases of property and equipment as reported. Free cash flow yield, payout ratio, enterprise value to revenue, the buyback-to-stock-compensation ratio, and the year-over-year percentages in Fundamentals are computed from as-filed inputs. Quarterly line items, peer medians, and current fiscal year consensus were not returned in the source run and are marked not disclosed rather than estimated. Not investment advice. Positions disclosed.
Bid Cap
Daily ideas, a 390-name database, and a model long/short book from an investor who mostly covers financials. $70 a month or $700 a year.
Subscribe on Substack

