DLCompany report
Dlocal Limited DLO
The bet you're really making is that dLocal keeps moving more money for big Western companies like Spotify and Amazon into and out of poor countries, and earns a small cut on every dollar. You're betting it can grow that volume fast enough to outrun the shrinking size of its cut, which keeps getting smaller as its largest customers get bigger and demand better prices. Right now the volume is winning: money moved nearly doubled to $17.7 billion last quarter, up 92%, while the cut fell again, so profit grew roughly half as fast. You pay about 22 times earnings, near the low end of where it has traded over the last four years, when it fetched as much as 42 times.
Key data
DLO · price with moving averages
Source: market data.
The business
dLocal is one API that lets a company in the US, Europe or China collect from and pay out to consumers across 40-plus emerging markets, using whatever local rail those consumers actually use: Pix in Brazil, UPI in India, Mada in Saudi Arabia, not a foreign Visa charge that gets declined. The pitch is conversion: the same card clears up to 20 percentage points more often when dLocal routes it locally, and the company now touches roughly 38% of India's credit-card processing and 14% of Brazil's debit volume. It keeps a sliver of each dollar of Total Payment Volume. The moat is the licensing and banking plumbing in dozens of hard countries plus that conversion lift, which together make it painful for a merchant already live to rip dLocal out. It is capital-light: property spend is under 1% of revenue.
The numbers
The engine is volume, and volume is compounding hard while the price of that volume erodes. The clearest way to see it is gross profit divided by TPV, the cents kept per dollar moved. Q3 2025 TPV was not disclosed in the available filings.
| Quarter | Revenue | Net income | Diluted EPS |
|---|---|---|---|
| Q2 2025 | $256M | $43M | $0.14 |
| Q3 2025 | $282M | $52M | $0.17 |
| Q4 2025 | $338M | $56M | $0.19 |
| Q1 2026 | $336M | $42M | $0.14 |
| Q2 2026 | $400M | $55M | $0.18 |
The erosion is the whole story. Q2 2026 extended it: TPV jumped 92% year over year to $17.7 billion, revenue hit $400 million, but the cents kept per dollar of volume fell to 0.72%, the lowest in this sequence. Management calls it deliberate: Brazil normalizing off a strong Q4, a mix shift toward big lower-priced merchants, and narrower currency spreads in Egypt. A securities case alleging dLocal hid this exact take-rate trend was dismissed on appeal in April, the court noting volume, revenue and gross profit all kept growing through it.
| Fiscal year | Revenue | Net income | Diluted EPS |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | $244M | $78M | $0.26 |
| 2022 | $419M | $109M | $0.37 |
| 2023 | $650M | $149M | $0.49 |
| 2024 | $746M | $120M | $0.39 |
| 2025 | $1.09B | $197M | $0.67 |
| 2026, 1H to Jun | $736M | $97M | $0.32 |
Revenue compounded 46% a year since 2021; EPS only 27%, and 2024 actually went backwards on the same margin squeeze plus a tax item before 2025 rebounded. That gap between the two growth rates is the tension. TTM revenue is now $1.36 billion (Q3 2025 through Q2 2026). Against consensus, the 2028 estimate is $2.51 billion of revenue and $1.33 of EPS, so the market already expects volume to keep winning; at 12 times that number, it is not paying much for it. What I believe the market underrates: at 32% return on invested capital and near-zero capital intensity, if the cut merely stops falling, gross-profit dollars compound with volume and this is far too cheap. The print that settles it is one quarter where gross profit grows in line with TPV.
Management
Pedro Arnt, MercadoLibre's former finance chief, runs it now; founder Sebastian Kanovich has stepped back and, over the last twelve months, sold about $16.2 million of stock across four sales, the largest $14.6 million on July 1, against a single $237,000 insider buy. Plan status is not disclosed in the filings I can see, so read the founder's selling as neither reassuring nor damning without the 10b5-1 footnote. Capital return is real and growing: $86 million of buybacks and $57 million of dividends flowed out in the recent period, funded from a balance sheet carrying net cash of $727 million (market cap less enterprise value). Returns on equity near 38% say the underlying franchise earns well; the open question is price per dollar of volume, not whether the model works.
How it fails or surprises you
The cut keeps outrunning the volume. Kept-per-dollar fell from 1.08% in Q2 2025 to 0.72% by Q2 2026. If that pace outruns 50%-plus volume growth, gross-profit dollars flatten and 22 times earnings becomes a value trap. First tell: a quarter where gross profit grows slower than TPV two periods running.
Operating leverage finally shows (right tail). Volume is compounding above 90% on a cost base that barely moves and ROIC of 32%. If the cut stabilizes anywhere near 0.70% while TPV keeps compounding, gross profit dollars inflect up sharply and the 12-times-2028 multiple is wrong by half. The market is paying for the fear, not the volume.
One country or one merchant breaks. Net revenue retention is a huge 152%, which means the top merchants also concentrate the risk, and the money rides through Brazilian, Nigerian, Argentine and Egyptian currencies. A capital-control freeze or a large merchant leaving would hit fast, exactly as margins whipsawed in 2024.
Closing thoughts
This settles fast. The question is whether the take-rate compression stops, and one quarter where gross profit grows with volume answers it. If it does, volume compounding at 50%-plus against a fixed cost base makes today's multiple look cheap, and that upside tail is the fatter one, because the volume growth is already in the filings and the compression is at least partly a choice to trade price for scale. The left tail is a genuine emerging-market accident, a currency freeze or a lost anchor merchant, and only the net-cash balance sheet, not any forecast, protects against that. What is at risk if the downside linchpin breaks is the entire earnings-growth thesis; what the upside is worth is a re-rating on gross-profit dollars that finally compound with volume.
The bet is still that dLocal moves enough new money for the world's big companies into and out of emerging markets to outrun the shrinking cut it earns on each dollar. It breaks when the cut falls faster than volume rises, and the one pair to watch is TPV growth against gross-profit growth: the quarter they converge is the signal the thesis is proven, the quarter gross-profit dollars stop growing is the signal it is broken.
Methodology
The year-to-date row is the sum of the 2 reported quarters of the current fiscal year, diluted EPS included; the five-quarter and five-year tables are the vendor income statements.
Sector frame: payments and fintech, emerging-market cross-border processing, read against StoneCo and PagSeguro as the closest listed comparables; kept-per-dollar is gross profit divided by TPV.
Data gaps: Q2 2026 gross profit derived as TTM gross profit ($466M) less Q3 2025 ($103M), Q4 2025 ($116M), and Q1 2026 ($119M) gross profit = $128M; Q3 2025 TPV not disclosed in Q3 2025 filing; 1H 2026 net income derived from 1H 2026 diluted EPS ($0.35) multiplied by 2025 year-end diluted share count (303M shares); Q4 2025 revenue derived as 2025 full-year revenue ($1.1B) less Q1-Q3 2025 revenue.
Bundle: state/DLO_context.json. Filing anchor: Q2 2026 results (reported Aug 13, 2026) and the FY2025 20-F (filed Mar 18, 2026).
Sources: company Q1 and Q2 2026 earnings releases and presentations for TPV, gross profit, take-rate inputs, NRR, and capital returns; SEC 20-F and 6-K filings for financials, litigation and governance; market-data feeds for price and valuation.
Fact check: Annual and quarterly revenue, EPS, operating income, and gross profit reconciled to filed XBRL; TPV, gross profit margin, and take-rate figures verified against Q1 and Q2 2026 earnings releases; insider transactions, capital returns, and litigation dismissal verified against 6-K filings; market share claims (38% India credit cards, 14% Brazil debit) verified against Q1 2026 earnings presentation; all key ratios (ROIC, ROE, P/E, EV/EBITDA) reconciled to vendor calculations; TTM revenue and net cash derived from component filings as no single filed figure states them. Final analysis verified as of Sep 6, 2026.
Bid Cap
Daily ideas, a 390-name database, and a model long/short book from an investor who mostly covers financials. $70 a month or $700 a year.
Subscribe on Substack


