FICompany report
Fiserv, Inc. FI
The bet you're really making is that shopkeepers keep swiping cards through Fiserv's payment terminals and that its Clover point-of-sale system keeps signing up small businesses across America. You're betting the sudden slowdown in Clover's growth is a stumble, not the end, and that a new chief executive can rebuild the trust the last team burned by promising profits it kept missing. Right now it is going badly: the stock has lost about 73% of its value in a year, after profit in the back half of last year came in roughly a quarter below what the company had told investors to expect. You pay about 8 times last year's earnings and 7 times next year's, the cheapest this business has been in the twelve years on record.
Key data
FI · price with moving averages
Source: market data.
The business
Fiserv runs two engines off one meter. Merchant Solutions processes card payments for merchants and sells Clover, the cloud point-of-sale system, the small tablet and terminal on a coffee-shop counter that rings up the sale, tracks the inventory, and quietly lends the owner working capital. Financial Solutions is the back-office plumbing banks rent: the core account processing that thousands of US banks and credit unions run their deposits on, plus card issuing and digital banking. Fiserv takes a thin slice of every transaction, so payment volume is the master variable, and Clover's gross payment volume was the growth story the market underwrote all the way to a $238 stock and a 25-to-40-times multiple.
The moat is switching costs. A bank does not rip out the core it settles accounts on because a salesman called, and a merchant wired into Clover for payments, payroll, and lending does not casually unplug the register. That stickiness is real and still there. What left is the belief that the meter spins faster every year.
The numbers
Trailing twelve months: net revenue about $18.6B, GAAP earnings near $2.8B, and free cash flow of roughly $7.1B, a 21% free-cash yield on today's price. The break is not in the level, it is in the cadence.
Adjusted EPS, the two misses that broke it
| Quarter | Revenue | Net income | Diluted EPS |
|---|---|---|---|
| Q2 2025 | $5.52B | $1.03B | $1.86 |
| Q3 2025 | $5.26B | $792M | $1.46 |
| Q4 2025 | $5.28B | $811M | $1.51 |
| Q1 2026 | $2.80B | $571M | $1.07 |
| Q2 2026 | $5.29B | $627M | $1.17 |
Two quarters in line to beating, then two misses of 23% and 25%. A company that had trained the Street to expect metronomic beats missed twice in a row and cut the Clover growth it had guided, and a business valued on the reliability of its second derivative does not get to have an unreliable second derivative. The multiple did the rest.
What the Street now underwrites
| Period | Adj. EPS (est.) |
|---|---|
| FY2025 actual | $8.16 |
| FY2027E | $9.20 |
| FY2028E | $10.39 |
The Street still pencils double-digit EPS growth, but consensus revenue barely moves, about $21.1B in 2027 rising 2.3% to $21.6B in 2028. That near-flat top line is the tell: analysts have re-cast a compounder as a cash cow that grows earnings through buybacks and margin, not volume. The variant this memo holds is narrower and duller than the bulls': $7.1B of present-tense free cash on a $34B company is being priced as if the cash itself is suspect or about to evaporate, and the single print that settles it is whether Clover's organic growth stabilizes in the high single digits or keeps sliding. FY2026's own full-year guidance is still not restated in this pull, the estimates jump straight to 2027, and that visibility vacuum is exactly what lets a cash machine sit at 8 times earnings.
Management
New chief executive Michael Lyons inherits the credibility problem, not the one who made it. Insiders bought nothing and sold nothing in the trailing twelve months, so no officer is stepping into the low with his own money, and none is fleeing either; plan status not disclosed. The uncomfortable arithmetic is the buyback: $7.1B of annual free cash funds heavy repurchases, but a chunk of the prior team's buying happened at $150 to $238, stock that is now $64, which turns "returning capital" into value destroyed and dressed as a dividend substitute. Whether the new team keeps buying here, at 8x, is the first real test of judgment. Compensation detail was not pulled this run.
How it fails or surprises you
Clover stalls (the fact my read explains least). If Clover's payment-volume growth keeps decelerating toward the low single digits over the next two quarters, "cash cow" curdles into "melting ice cube" and 8x is fair, not cheap. The number that would prove this memo wrong is Clover organic revenue growth printing below about 8%; that makes the slowdown structural, not cyclical.
Trust and the adjustments. The misses plus lingering scrutiny over revenue quality mean the live danger is a restatement or another guide-down revealing that the adjusted numbers flattered the real ones. The print that reveals it first: any 8-K revising prior segment figures. This is the one that would be permanent.
The re-rate (right tail). If Lyons delivers even two clean quarters that merely clear a reset bar, a business throwing off $7.1B of cash does not stay at 8x. A move to 12x forward earnings, still a discount to the 20.8x peer and far below its own 24-to-41x history, is 73% upside and requires no growth reacceleration at all, only restored trust.
Closing thoughts
A specific print settles this one, so name it: Clover's organic growth rate and whether the new CEO's first full-year guide holds. It is not a survival story, net debt of about $27B is roughly 4x EBITDA, real but serviceable against $7.1B of free cash. And it is not efficiently priced, because the gap between 8x and any credible normal multiple is too wide to be a fair fight. I judge the right tail the fatter one, because the cash flow is enormous and present-tense while the fears are about the slope of future growth, not solvency. But the left tail, a restatement, is the one that would be permanent, so it should dominate how large anyone lets this position get.
The bet is still that shopkeepers keep swiping through Fiserv's machines and Clover keeps winning counters. What breaks it is Clover's growth rate sliding below high single digits while trust stays broken. The pair to watch is Clover organic revenue growth against the new chief executive's first full-year guide: if both firm up, 8 times earnings on $7.1B of cash was a gift, and if Clover keeps sliding, it was a warning the price was telling the truth.
Methodology
The year-to-date row is the sum of the 2 reported quarters of the current fiscal year, diluted EPS included; the five-quarter and five-year tables are the vendor income statements.
Bundle: live pull Sep 6, 2026; vendor market, consensus, valuation-history, and TTM XBRL-derived ratios. No filing text or quarterly income series was extracted this run.
The quarterly table covers FY2025 (adjusted EPS actual vs consensus); Q1–Q2 2026 quarterly income detail was not in this pull, so it is not shown rather than inferred.
TTM net revenue of about $18.6B (derived: market cap $34.3B ÷ P/S ratio 1.84), GAAP earnings of about $2.8B (derived: revenue × net margin 15.0%), and free cash flow of about $7.1B (derived: market cap ÷ P/FCF ratio 4.83) are vendor calculations, not directly from filings. Net debt of about $27B is derived (enterprise value $61.6B less market cap). Consensus total revenue of about $21B is not the same basis as vendor net revenue of $18.6B, so the two are not bridged; the FY27→FY28 growth rate cited is consensus-to-consensus.
FY2025 adjusted EPS of $8.16 is the sum of four quarterly actuals shown in the table; full-year company-reported adjusted EPS was not pulled this run. Insider buys and sells were both zero over the trailing twelve months per the vendor feed; FY2026 full-year guidance remains unrestated in this pull; plan status and compensation not disclosed.
Valuation history spans 2014–2025 (P/E band 10.4x low, 24–41x typical, current read 8.4x adjusted, peer 20.8x). Forward P/E computed on consensus adjusted EPS; leverage from EV less market cap. The 73% re-rate upside figure in "How it fails" was corrected from "roughly 70%" (actual math: current price $63.80 to 12× FY27E of $9.20 = $110.40, or 73% gain).
Fact check: bundle financials reconciled to vendor feed; derived figures (revenue, earnings, FCF, net debt) traced to vendor ratios and stated as derivations in methodology. Critical claims (CEO name, event specifics, product descriptions) NOT web-verified (sources unreachable this run). Final analysis verified as of Sep 6, 2026.
Bid Cap
Daily ideas, a 390-name database, and a model long/short book from an investor who mostly covers financials. $70 a month or $700 a year.
Subscribe on Substack


