IICompany report
Innovative Industrial Properties, Inc. IIPR
The bet you're really making is that America's licensed cannabis growers keep paying rent on the greenhouses and warehouses Innovative Industrial owns, buildings it bought from those growers and leased right back on long contracts. You're betting the tenants who already stopped paying were the weak ones, and the rest hang on until federal rules loosen. Right now it is mixed: profit jumped 69% to $43.9M last quarter, but almost all of that came from interest on a cash pile, not from rent, which was dead flat. You pay about 13 times next year's earnings and 0.9 times the value of the buildings themselves, less than the stock has fetched in almost any year of the last decade.
Key data
IIPR · price with moving averages
Source: market data.
The business
Innovative Industrial is the biggest landlord to the U.S. cannabis industry. The model is sale-leaseback: it pays cash for a state-licensed operator's cultivation or processing plant, then leases it straight back on a long triple-net lease where the tenant covers taxes, insurance and upkeep. The moat was that it was the only scaled capital source for plant-touching operators, because cannabis is federally illegal and banks and ordinary REITs will not touch them. That same federal wall is the risk. The properties are hardened greenhouses stuffed with power and water buildout, expensive to replicate but only valuable to another cannabis grower, so a default in an oversupplied state is slow and costly to cure. Rent per foot runs far above normal industrial because the tenants have nowhere else to go. Ascend Wellness is a named concentration, and at least one tenant sits above 10% of rent. The rent roll shrank as weaker operators defaulted through the 2023 to 2025 cannabis downturn, which is why revenue is well off its peak.
The numbers
Revenue has reset lower and is now roughly flat, oscillating in the mid-$60Ms through the last five quarters.
| Quarter | Revenue | Net income | Diluted EPS |
|---|---|---|---|
| Q2 2025 | $62.9M | $26.0M | $0.86 |
| Q3 2025 | $64.7M | $29.3M | $0.97 |
| Q4 2025 | $66.7M | $31.8M | $1.07 |
| Q1 2026 | $69.0M | $32.8M | $1.02 |
| Q2 2026 | $63.3M | $43.9M | $1.36 |
The Q2 2026 EPS of $1.36 cleared the $1.02 consensus, but the beat is not rent. Rental revenue was $62.9M against $62.9M a year earlier. The jump came from $10.8M of interest and other income, up from $1.57M, earned on the $204.7M of cash raised, plus lighter G&A. Strip that out and core earnings are flat.
| Fiscal year | Revenue | Net income | Diluted EPS |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | $204.6M | $114.0M | $4.55 |
| 2022 | $276.4M | $154.4M | $5.52 |
| 2023 | $309.5M | $165.6M | $5.77 |
| 2024 | $308.5M | $161.7M | $5.52 |
| 2025 | $266.0M | $118.2M | $3.93 |
| 2026, 1H to Jun | $132.3M | $76.7M | $2.39 |
Revenue peaked in 2023 at $309.5M and fell 14% to $266.0M by 2025, while diluted EPS dropped 32%, from $5.77 to $3.93, as defaults cut the rent roll and a 2025 impairment bit. The 1H 2026 run-rate annualizes to about $264M, still flat to down. Consensus, resting on two analysts, calls for $4.25 this year and $4.46 next, a bet that the rent roll has bottomed. The variant here is that Q2's strength is borrowed from a cash pile the company will spend on acquisitions or return, so the question the market has not settled is whether defaulted properties re-lease at rents that hold the payout. The number that settles it is rental revenue, not total revenue, turning up quarter over quarter.
The balance sheet is the cushion, and for a REIT it is the business.
| Balance sheet | Amount |
|---|---|
| Cash | $204.7M |
| Long-term debt | $393.7M |
| Net debt / EBITDA | 1.7x |
| Interest coverage | 5.3x |
| Credit facility rate | 6.1% |
Management
Founder and executive chairman Alan Gold bought about $277K across five open-market purchases in November 2025, the largest $127,634, with no insider sales in twelve months. Plan status is not disclosed, but purchases are purchases, and this is a founder adding at these prices. Capital allocation is the clearer tell: the company repurchased 1.47M shares for $89.0M in the first half, and $20.1M in 2025, buying stock near $61 against book value of roughly $65, which is accretive if the buildings hold their carrying value. The dividend is the pressure point. Common dividends of $53.1M in the half sat under $70.8M of GAAP net income to common, so on paper it is covered, but that GAAP figure leans on the same non-rental interest income, and AFFO, the cash measure that would settle coverage, is not disclosed in this run's filing, so whether the dividend is sustainably covered remains an open question.
How it fails or surprises you
Tenant defaults resume. If another top-10 tenant, Ascend Wellness or a peer above 10% of rent, stops paying, rental revenue takes a fresh leg down, and re-leasing a purpose-built cannabis plant in an oversupplied state can run several quarters at a lower rent. Watch quarterly rental revenue and any new default disclosure. That is the number that breaks the floor.
Dividend cut. GAAP earnings covered the half-year payout, but rent is flat and the Q2 cushion came from interest income the company will spend redeploying its $204.7M of cash. If AFFO per share, once disclosed, sits below the declared dividend for two straight quarters, a cut follows, and the market is not fully braced for it.
Federal reform (right tail). Rescheduling to Schedule III or banking reform would hand IIPR's tenants normal capital and cheaper debt, lifting their survival odds and letting IIPR redeploy its cash into new sale-leasebacks at wide yields. The market pays nothing for this today. Watch DEA rulemaking and any tenant refinancing at lower rates.
Closing thoughts
You're paying 0.9x book for a balance sheet strong enough to weather more tenant losses while waiting for federal reform or rent stabilization, whichever comes first. At 1.7x net debt to EBITDA, $204.7M of cash, and 5.3x interest coverage, IIPR can survive several more quarters of flat or declining rent without breaking. The left tail is another round of defaults forcing a dividend cut; the right tail is federal reform re-rating the model toward the peer group's 2.4x book. Near term the fatter tail is the downside, because rent is flat and the Q2 earnings beat came from interest income the company will redeploy, but hard assets carried above the stock price and a founder buying limit the fall. What is at risk if defaults resume is another leg down in rent and the dividend. What the upside is worth if reform lands is a move back toward peer book multiples.
The bet is still that America's licensed cannabis growers keep paying rent on the buildings Innovative Industrial owns, and that the defaults already behind it were the weak hands. It breaks if rental revenue keeps sliding quarter after quarter. Watch quarterly rental revenue against the declared dividend, because that gap tells you first whether the payout is sustainable. If rental revenue turns up two quarters running, the cheapness was real. If it keeps sliding, 0.9x book was the market pricing the next cut.
Methodology
Back of Napkin, IIPR, Sep 6, 2026, grounded in IIPR's 10-Q filed 2026-08-04 for the period ended 2026-06-30 where the filing states the figure.
Q4 2025 derived as FY 2025 less the first nine months.
AFFO, Normalized FFO and dividend-per-share figures were not pulled this run; GAAP EPS is as filed and includes interest income and gain items that flatter the year-over-year comparison.
Consensus forward figures (FY26E EPS $4.25, FY27E $4.46) rest on two analyst estimates and are directional, not guidance.
Valuation history is price-to-book over 2016 to 2025 (current 0.9x, decade range 0.3x to 3.9x, peers ≈ 2.4x); no P/E history was available this run.
No price target and no recommendation; the memo names the rental-revenue-versus-dividend print that resolves the coverage question.
Fact check: bundle financials reconciled to filed 10-Q; one approximation corrected (Q2 2025 interest income $1.57M not $1.6M); Alan Gold executive chairman title confirmed via Form 4 insider data but not independently web-verified this run. Long-term debt figure ($393.7M) is from year-end 2025, most recent disclosure available. Final analysis verified as of Sep 6, 2026.
Bid Cap
Daily ideas, a 390-name database, and a model long/short book from an investor who mostly covers financials. $70 a month or $700 a year.
Subscribe on Substack


