LUManagement and incentives
Lululemon Athletica Inc. LULU
lululemon's compensation committee added $287.4M of cost back to fiscal 2025 operating income before deciding what its executives had earned, and $20.3M of that was the bill for firing the chief executive and for fighting Chip Wilson's proxy contest. That rewritten $2.50B still missed the annual profit bar by $33.0M and paid nothing on that half, while clearing the three-year bar at 134.4% of target.
Key data
LULU · price with moving averages
Source: market data.
What the plan pays for
| Element | What it measures, in plain words | Weight | Period | Payout range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Annual cash bonus, O'Neill target $2.8M | ||||
| Net revenue | Everything customers paid | 50% | The fiscal year | 0% to 200% |
| Modified operating income | Profit from running the business, after the committee removes costs it decides were not contemplated when the goals were set | 50% | The fiscal year | 0% to 200% |
| Annual equity, about $10.0M | ||||
| PSU, operating income growth rate | Compound annual growth in operating income from a fixed starting year | 60% of equity | Fiscal 2026 to 2028, baseline $2.21B | 0% to 250%, goals not disclosed |
| PSU, shareholder return ceiling | If the total return on the stock over the three years is negative, the award cannot pay above target no matter what profit does | Caps the whole PSU award | Fiscal 2026 to 2028 | Ceiling of 100% |
| Stock options | Worth nothing unless the stock clears $99.72 | 40% of equity | One quarter a year for four years | n/a |
| Sign-on grants, September 9, 2026 | ||||
| RSUs | Shares that vest with time | $2.8M | Half in 2027, half in 2028 | n/a |
| Stock options | Same $99.72 strike | $4.2M | Half in 2027, half in 2028 | n/a |
| Cash retention | Stay 24 months or repay a prorated after-tax share | $2.0M | To September 8, 2028 | 0% or 100% |
| Open earlier cycles | ||||
| PSU, fiscal 2024 to 2026 | Operating income growth from fiscal 2023 adjusted operating income | All of that grant | Ends fiscal 2026, baseline $2.23B | 0% to 200%, goals not disclosed |
| PSU, fiscal 2025 to 2027 | Operating income growth from fiscal 2024 operating income | All of that grant | Ends fiscal 2027, baseline $2.51B | 0% to 200%, goals not disclosed |
Two numbers, weighted equally, with no strategic bucket and no individual rating, so the whole bonus turns on revenue and on a profit figure the committee may redraw after the year closes. The long-term half is measured as a growth rate from a fixed starting year. O'Neill's starting year is fiscal 2025 reported operating income of $2.21B, not the $2.50B the committee used to pay everybody else for the same twelve months.
What it has paid
| Fiscal year | Revenue bar, threshold / target | Revenue actual | Profit bar, threshold / target | Profit figure used | Bonus paid | Cycle certified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2023 | $8.63B / $9.23B | $9.62B | $1.84B / $2.05B | $2.23B adjusted | 200% | FY2020 to 2023 at 200%, 25.9% growth |
| 2024 | $10.29B / $11.01B | $10.59B | $2.30B / $2.55B | $2.51B reported | 80.9% | FY2022 to 2024 at 200%, 22.2% growth |
| 2025 | $10.80B / $11.51B | $11.10B | $2.53B / $2.59B | $2.50B modified | 35.7% | FY2023 to 2025 at 134.4%, 11.8% growth |
| Fiscal 2025 operating income | |
|---|---|
| As reported | $2.21B |
| Tariff cost added back | +$275.0M |
| Vendor savings taken out | −$7.9M |
| Cost of the chief executive transition added back | +$15.2M |
| Cost of the proxy contest added back | +$5.1M |
| Used to pay the bonus and the performance shares | $2.50B |
The bars kept rising while the business slowed. Fiscal 2025 asked for revenue 8.7% above what the company had done and set the profit threshold $25.3M above the prior year's result, so repeating fiscal 2024 would have earned nothing on the profit half. It earned nothing anyway. Revenue paid 71.3%, profit paid zero, and the blended 35.7% went to a chief executive the board had already terminated, alongside $5.15M of severance and a full vesting of his closing performance-share cycle.
The same $2.50B then paid 134.4% on the three-year cycle, because that ladder was built off fiscal 2022 and needed only a 10% growth rate to reach target, and the modified number delivered 11.8%. On reported numbers it would have paid 72.5%. Support for the pay vote fell from roughly 83% to 63.2% in June 2026.
What she does next
The fiscal 2026 to 2028 cycle runs from $2.21B to whatever fiscal 2028 produces, so nothing reported in fiscal 2026 or 2027 can damage it, and O'Neill's cash bonus this year is prorated from a September start. The arithmetic says take the pain now.
The fiscal 2026 bars are not disclosed, but the company guides revenue to $10.35B to $10.50B, below the $10.80B that merely opened the revenue payout last year, and the street models $10.46B of revenue and $1.71B of operating income.
Watch the tariff money. lululemon paid $230M under the law the Supreme Court struck down, has recovered $134.5M, and books the refund inside cost of goods sold, the line both awards measure. The committee pulled $275.0M of those same tariffs out of fiscal 2025 to lift the payout. Next spring's modified operating income either strips the $134.5M back out or it does not.
An acquisition would dilute operating income, and repurchases move neither metric, so the $712.5M left on the authorization defends only the option strike and the return ceiling. Americas comparable sales fell 12% in the second quarter, and selling and administrative expense rose $171.8M in the first half while gross profit fell. Two consumer class actions already allege tariff-related pricing actions, the cost of that lever.
O'Neill has purchased nothing. Her only position is 145,518 options struck at $99.72 on September 9, under water eight days later. Calvin McDonald filed no Form 4 in the twelve months. The heaviest selling was Celeste Burgoyne's $2.8M in mid-December 2025, two weeks before she resigned, while director Chip Bergh put $1.5M of his own money in across March and June.
Closing thoughts
They pay this chief executive to grow revenue and to grow a profit number the committee can rewrite, so watch the definition, not the business. One line settles it next spring: whether the $134.5M already collected comes out of modified operating income the way the $275.0M of tariff cost went in.
Methodology
Sector frame: Consumer discretionary, apparel and accessories; the incentive frame is annual net revenue and modified operating income weighted equally, plus a three-year operating income growth rate with a negative-return ceiling; valuation multiples, moat durability and scenario work are out of lane for this report.
Data gaps: fiscal 2026 threshold, target and maximum goals for both bonus metrics are not disclosed until the fiscal 2026 proxy; the growth-rate goals for the fiscal 2024 to 2026, fiscal 2025 to 2027 and fiscal 2026 to 2028 performance-share cycles are withheld until the committee certifies each cycle; O'Neill's Form 4 filed September 11, 2026 reports only restricted stock and options, so the performance-share half of her annual award had not been granted as of that date; the proxy does not disclose whether the $134.5M of tariff refunds received in the second quarter of fiscal 2026 will be excluded from fiscal 2026 modified operating income, only that the committee expects to avoid a duplicative benefit.
Bundle: state/LULU_context.json · Filing anchor: DEFC14A (filed May 18, 2026), FY2025 Form 10-K (filed March 17, 2026), Form 10-Q for the quarter ended August 2, 2026 (filed September 3, 2026).
Sources: lululemon athletica inc. CIK 0001397187 DEFC14A filed May 18, 2026, DEF 14A filed April 29, 2025, DEF 14A filed April 25, 2024, Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended February 1, 2026, Form 10-Q for the quarter ended August 2, 2026, Forms 8-K filed April 22, 2026, June 26, 2026, September 3, 2026 and September 14, 2026, SEC XBRL company facts for revenue and operating income by fiscal year, and 51 Forms 3 and 4 filed between September 16, 2025 and September 16, 2026 parsed from raw XML with the issuer CIK checked on every document; vendor consensus estimates and the LULU quote pulled September 16, 2026.
Fact check: every weight, payout range, threshold, target, maximum and certified outcome reconciled to the named proxy, including the fiscal 2023, fiscal 2024 and fiscal 2025 goal tables and the fiscal 2023 performance-share ladder read directly from the proxies' goal graphics; the $287.4M reconciliation from $2,210.6M reported to $2,498.0M modified traced line by line to Appendix A of the May 18, 2026 proxy; fiscal 2022 through fiscal 2025 revenue and operating income and first-half fiscal 2026 results tied to SEC XBRL company facts and the Form 10-Q; the $33.0M shortfall against the profit threshold, the $20.3M of executive transition and proxy contest cost, the $25.3M gap between that threshold and the prior-year actual, the 8.7% revenue bar increase and the 63.2% pay-vote support are computed from disclosed figures; insider codes verified transaction by transaction from raw Form 4 XML; the market value, share price and consensus estimates are third-party data pulled this session and labeled as such.
Bid Cap
Daily ideas, a 390-name database, and a model long/short book from an investor who mostly covers financials. $70 a month or $700 a year.
Subscribe on Substack

