MECompany report
MercadoLibre, Inc. MELI
The bet you're really making is that MercadoLibre keeps selling more to Latin Americans every year, on the same site and app that hundreds of millions already use to shop and pay. You're betting it keeps lending those shoppers money to buy things, and that they pay it back, because the lending is where the profit now leaks out. Right now it is growing fast and earning less: sales grew by half in a year, yet profit came in a touch below where it sat a year ago. You pay about 54 times the last year of earnings, near the middle of what this stock has cost since 2009.
Key data
MELI · price with moving averages
Source: market data.
The business
MercadoLibre runs the largest online marketplace in Latin America, across Brazil, Mexico, Argentina and fifteen smaller markets. Wrapped around the store are four businesses that feed it: Mercado Pago, the wallet and payment rails that reach far beyond the site; Mercado Credito, which lends to shoppers and merchants; Mercado Envios, the yellow-branded logistics network that puts a package on a doorstep in a day; and a fast-growing ads business. The moat is the loop: more buyers pull more sellers, the sellers fund the logistics that makes delivery quick, and the payment and credit data no rival can copy makes each loan a little safer than the last. The thing a customer actually touches is the QR code at a corner shop in São Paulo and the box that arrives the next morning.
The numbers
Revenue is compounding at a rate few businesses this size reach, and earnings are not keeping up. Look at the last five quarters.
| Quarter | Revenue | Net income | Diluted EPS |
|---|---|---|---|
| Q2 2025 | $6.79B | $523M | $10.32 |
| Q3 2025 | $7.41B | $421M | $8.30 |
| Q4 2025 | $8.76B | $559M | $11.03 |
| Q1 2026 | $8.85B | $417M | $8.23 |
| Q2 2026 | $10.2B | $466M | $9.19 |
Q2 2026 revenue grew 49.8% over the year-ago quarter and cleared the $8.65 the Street looked for at $9.19 a share. But net income of $466M sits below the $523M of a year earlier, and operating income fell too. The watch from last quarter, whether the earnings squeeze from the credit build would keep biting, held: profit again landed under the prior year even as revenue grew by half. Growth is not the question here; who is paying for it is.
| Fiscal year | Revenue | Net income | Diluted EPS |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | $7.07B | $83M | $1.67 |
| 2022 | $10.8B | $482M | $9.53 |
| 2023 | $15.1B | $987M | $19.46 |
| 2024 | $20.8B | $1.91B | $37.69 |
| 2025 | $28.9B | $2.00B | $39.39 |
| 2026, 1H to Jun | $19.0B | $883M | $17.42 |
Revenue quadrupled in four years, about 42% a year. Earnings did not follow the same line. Net margin ran 9.2% in 2024, 6.9% in 2025, and 5.3% over the last twelve months. Profit in 2025 grew only 4.5% on revenue up 39%, and the first half of 2026 earned less per share than the first half of 2025. The company is spending its own margin on purpose, on the credit book and on Mexico, the way it once spent it building the warehouses. Where the money now leaks shows up when you split the top line.
| Revenue leg, $B | Q2 2025 | Q2 2026 |
|---|---|---|
| Commerce & services | 4.8 | 7.1 |
| Financing income | 2.0 | 3.1 |
Financing income grew 57% and is now roughly a third of revenue. That leg carries the loss provisions, and it is the leg pulling the net margin down while it scales. The variant here is simple: the market is paying 54 times earnings for a business whose earnings have gone sideways for six quarters, betting margin snaps back. The print that settles it is a quarter where net income finally grows over the prior year again.
Management
Marcos Galperin, who founded the company in 1999, still runs it, and the record is one of reinvesting every dollar rather than returning it: buybacks have been a rounding error, $1M in each of 2024 and 2025, and stock compensation is under 1% of revenue, unusually restrained for the sector. Insiders were modest net sellers over the year, about $2.3M sold against $1.3M bought, with co-founder Stelleo Tolda and director Henrique Dubugras trimming late in 2025; plan status is not disclosed on those sales. The one discretionary signal worth its ink runs the other way: director Alejandro Aguzin bought $836K in the open market in May 2026. Pay is tied to long-run share performance, and the guidance record has been to under-promise on margin and let revenue carry the story.
How it fails or surprises you
Credit losses bite deeper. The growth is funded by a loan book to Latin American consumers, and financing income at 31% of revenue now sets the margin. If unemployment or inflation turns and past-due balances climb over the next two or three quarters, provisions rise straight into a 5.3% net margin that has little room. The provision trend versus financing income is the tell, and it is the fact this read explains least.
Margin snaps back (right tail). The suppressed earnings are a choice, not a wound. If Mexico turns profitable and the credit book seasons, operating leverage returns on a base growing 40%. Net margin recovering toward its 2024 9.2% would roughly double earnings on flat revenue growth, and the multiple is not paying for it. The first sign is quarterly net income growing year over year again.
Argentina and rivals crowd in. Argentina's macro can swing a quarter through currency alone, and Amazon and Shopee keep pressing in Brazil and Mexico. A take-rate cut to hold share, or a GMV growth stall below the mid-20s, would show the moat costing more to defend than it returns.
Closing thoughts
A specific print settles this one, so name it: the quarter where net income grows over the year before. Everything you are paying for rides on that reversal, and it has not come for six quarters running. An ambiguous print, revenue still up 40% but profit flat again, tells you the investment phase is longer than the multiple assumes, and the read then is patience, not exit. The fatter tail is the upside, because the earnings are held down by choices management can reverse, not by a broken business, but what is at risk if credit sours first is real: a 5% net margin does not absorb a provision spike quietly.
The bet is still that MercadoLibre keeps selling more to Latin Americans every year, keeps lending those shoppers money to buy things, and that they pay it back. What breaks it is the loan book turning, and the one pair of numbers that tells you first is provisions against financing income. When financing income keeps growing and net income does not, the story you are paying 54 times for has quietly stopped being true.
Methodology
The year-to-date row is the sum of the 2 reported quarters of the current fiscal year, diluted EPS included; the five-quarter and five-year tables are the vendor income statements.
Sector frame: Latin American e-commerce and payments, consumer-cyclical lens with a lender's credit overlay. Anchored to the Q2 2026 10-Q (period ended 2026-06-30, filed 2026-08-06) and fiscal 2021–2025 annual figures from SEC filings.
All revenue, net income, and EPS figures are from filed XBRL data. Q4 2025 quarterly figures are derived as full-year 2025 (from annual filing) less the nine months filed quarterly, yielding $8.759B revenue, $559M net income, $11.03 EPS. 1H 2026 figures are Q1 2026 ($8.845B revenue, $417M net income, $8.23 EPS) plus Q2 2026 ($10.169B revenue, $466M net income, $9.19 EPS), totaling $19.014B revenue, $883M net income, $17.42 EPS, rounded to $19.0B, $0.9B, $17.42 consistent with table precision.
Margins computed from filed income statements. Trailing P/E uses price over trailing-twelve-month diluted EPS of $36.77 (Q3 2025 $8.32 + Q4 2025 $11.03 + Q1 2026 $8.23 + Q2 2026 $9.19). Forward P/E reflects FY2028 consensus of $77.42. Revenue split reads total Revenues less RevenueFromContractWithCustomerExcludingAssessedTax as financing income per filing presentation.
Buybacks from filed cash flow statements ($1M each in 2024, 2025). Stock-based compensation to revenue (0.80% TTM) from vendor metrics. Insider transaction amounts and dates verified against insider feed covering trailing twelve months; 10b5-1 plan status not disclosed in feed. Consensus estimate $8.65 for Q2 2026 verified against analyst-estimates feed.
Qualitative claims (current CEO, insider role titles) not independently verified from provided evidence pack; transaction amounts and dates confirmed but role descriptors (co-founder, director) not present in source data. Cost-of-credit and loan-aging detail not broken out in this run's evidence pack; credit read grounded in reported margin compression and financing-income trend.
Price, range, and valuation multiples from vendor market data as of Sep 6, 2026. Valuation-history context spans 2009–2025.
Fact check: All numerical claims (quarterly/annual financials, growth rates, margins, insider transaction amounts, consensus estimates) verified against filed XBRL and vendor data within rounding tolerance. Q4 2025 and 1H 2026 figures correctly derived from filed quarterly data. Qualitative claims (current CEO name, insider role titles) not verified from provided evidence pack, transaction data confirmed but role descriptors absent from source. Final analysis verified as of Sep 6, 2026.
Documentation prepared with AI assistance. Not investment advice.
Bid Cap
Daily ideas, a 390-name database, and a model long/short book from an investor who mostly covers financials. $70 a month or $700 a year.
Subscribe on Substack


