MROne Pager
Marvell Technology, Inc. MRVL
Written 2026-08-22. The company has filed a quarterly or annual report since, on 2026-08-28, so figures here predate its latest disclosure.
FY2026 earnings of $3.07 per share look like an inflection, but roughly $2.14 of that came from a one-time gain rather than from selling chips.
At $237.04 and 124.7x trailing free cash flow, the price is a bet that revenue triples from $8.2B to $23.6B in three years, and the next print is five days out.
Key data
MRVL · price with moving averages
Source: market data.
The business
Marvell designs the silicon that moves data inside and between data centers: optical transceivers and the digital signal processors that push traffic across fibre, ethernet switches, storage controllers, and custom accelerators built to one customer's design. Hyperscalers are the buyers, and when a cloud operator wants its own AI chip rather than Nvidia's, Marvell and Broadcom are the two companies that build it. Marvell gets paid per chip shipped, at a 50.6% trailing gross margin.
The economic engine is the design win: each program locks in multi-year silicon volumes at one account, so revenue arrives in steps rather than smoothly. What changed is that the steps finally landed. Revenue went from $5.77B to $8.19B in fiscal 2026, up 42%, after three years of decline and GAAP losses, and the legacy carrier, enterprise networking, consumer and automotive lines have been shrinking or sold. Fiscal years end 31 January.
Business read. Two credible suppliers build custom AI silicon, and Marvell is the smaller of the two.
Things you might not know
Marvell clears its own non-GAAP guide by roughly a penny and no more: $0.76 against $0.743, then $0.80 against $0.792, then $0.80 against $0.798, with an earlier $0.67 against $0.673 that missed. Nothing is being sandbagged, so the 2026-08-27 quarter carries no hidden cushion.
The 2026 proxy shows 875,553,173 common shares as of the 2026-04-30 record date plus Series A preferred convertible into 21,778,000 more, or 897,331,173 on an as-converted basis. That sits above the 893.3M diluted count already reported, so the dilution path has a step in it the diluted line does not show yet.
Marvell returned roughly $2.2 billion through repurchases and dividends in fiscal 2026 while selling its Wi-Fi business to NXP for $1.8 billion and automotive ethernet to Infineon for $2.5 billion cash, per the 2026 proxy CEO letter. Buybacks of $2.04 billion exceeded free cash flow of $1.40 billion.
Fundamentals
| Measure | QoQ | YoY |
|---|---|---|
| Revenue | not disclosed | +42.0% |
| Operating income | not disclosed | n/m |
| GAAP diluted EPS | not disclosed | n/m |
| Free cash flow | not disclosed | +0.5% |
| Diluted shares | +2.7% | +0.5% |
Basis: year over year compares fiscal 2026, ended 2026-01-31, with fiscal 2025; the source report does not carry fourth-quarter detail, so most sequential changes are unavailable. The year flipped a $0.72B operating loss into $1.34B of operating income on 42% revenue growth, while free cash flow moved 0.5% because receivables consumed $1,158.2M and inventory $389.8M into the ramp.
Valuation
| Metric | Company | Peer median |
|---|---|---|
| Trailing P/E, diluted | 81.5x | not disclosed |
| Trailing price to sales | 23.8x | not disclosed |
| Trailing price to free cash flow | 124.7x | not disclosed |
| Gross margin, trailing | 50.6% | not disclosed |
| Operating margin, FY2026 | 16.4% | not disclosed |
Peer set: Broadcom, Astera Labs, Credo Technology, Coherent.
Peer medians were not pulled in the source run and are not fabricated here. On the company's own basis, 81.5x trailing earnings flatters the stock because $2.14 of the $3.07 was non-operating, and 124.7x free cash flow, a 0.67% yield, is the cleaner trailing read. Consensus of $6.30 for the year ending January 2028 puts it at 37.6x.
Management
| Measure | Record |
|---|---|
| Capital allocation | FY2026 buybacks $2.04B against $725M in FY2025, roughly $2.2B returned including dividends; divestitures of automotive ethernet to Infineon for $2.5B cash and Wi-Fi to NXP for $1.8B; FY2026 free cash flow $1.40B |
| Diluted shares | 865.5M in FY2025 to 869.7M in FY2026, then 893.3M in the quarter ended 2026-05-02, up 2.7% sequentially; stock compensation $590.8M; 875,553,173 common outstanding at the 2026-04-30 record date |
| Insider activity (12mo) | Not disclosed. Form 4 detail was not retrievable in this run on 2026-08-22, and the source report did not pull it |
Compensation
| Horizon | Goals | Outcome |
|---|---|---|
| Annual cash, fiscal 2026 AIP | Revenue weighted 50% and non-GAAP operating income margin weighted 50%, semi-annual targets paid annually, payout range 0% to 200% of target, no payout for any goal below threshold | Payout percent of target not disclosed in the retrieved proxy text; CEO Matt Murphy total fiscal 2026 compensation $25,064,348 per the DEF 14A filed 2026-05-13 |
| Long-term, fiscal 2023 TSR PSU | Relative total shareholder return versus the S&P 500 over 2022-04-15 to 2025-04-05, paying 0% at 33 points below the index, 100% at the index, 200% at 33 points above | Final payout percent of target not disclosed in the retrieved proxy text |
The linchpins
Win big if
Marvell wins big if the custom accelerator programs now in design ramp on the schedule consensus assumes, carrying revenue from $8.19B to $16.81B by January 2028 and $23.59B by January 2029, which would earn $6.30 and $9.30 and make today's 37.6x and 25.5x forward multiples ordinary. The first observable proof is the 2026-08-27 print clearing consensus of $2,713.9M, up 12.2% sequentially, with the October guide stepping up again. The confirming signal is Marvell naming additional accelerator programs with disclosed volumes while free cash flow exceeds $2.5B in fiscal 2027 as receivables normalize.
Surprised down if
Marvell surprises down if sequential growth slips below 8% while the price still requires revenue to triple, because at 23.8x sales and $1.69 of tangible book per share there is no valuation floor to catch a slower ramp. The first observable proof is revenue on 2026-08-27 landing short of $2,713.9M, or an October guide that flattens. The confirming signal is fiscal 2028 consensus revenue revised below $14B, which would push the forward multiple back above 45x, alongside diluted shares passing 900M from 893.3M.
Last word
Up 286% from the low and 28.1% below the high, the stock has already argued both sides.
Methodology
Compressed from the Back of Napkin on Marvell Technology dated 2026-08-22, which sources financials from the Form 10-K filed 2026-03-11 (fiscal year ended 2026-01-31), the Form 10-Q filed 2026-05-28 (quarter ended 2026-05-02), the Form 10-Q filed 2025-12-03, and vendor consensus and price data as of 2026-08-22. Management, share-count and compensation fields, absent from that report, were taken from Marvell's DEF 14A filed 2026-05-13 (AIP design, record-date share counts, CEO total compensation, CEO letter on capital returns and divestitures) and the DEF 14A filed 2025-05-01 (fiscal 2023 TSR PSU terms). The fiscal 2026 operating margin of 16.4% and the fiscal 2026 revenue growth of 42.0% are computed from reported figures. Direct EDGAR retrieval was blocked in this run, so the proxy Compensation Discussion and Analysis outcome figures and Form 4 insider detail could not be read and are marked not disclosed rather than estimated. Not investment advice.
Bid Cap
Daily ideas, a 390-name database, and a model long/short book from an investor who mostly covers financials. $70 a month or $700 a year.
Subscribe on Substack

