NDCompany report
Nasdaq, Inc. NDAQ
The bet you're really making is that Nasdaq keeps turning from a stock exchange into a software company that banks pay every year, to catch money launderers, file reports to regulators, and manage the risk on their books. You're betting those yearly subscriptions keep growing faster than the up-and-down exchange business, so the whole company gets steadier and earns more. Right now it is going well: the biggest revenue quarter ever, up 21%, though profit grew only 12% as interest and taxes took a bigger bite. You pay about 28 times earnings, the middle of where the stock has traded over the last twelve years, and more than rival exchanges.
Key data
NDAQ · price with moving averages
Source: market data.
The business
Nasdaq still owns the exchange the name conjures, the ticker board in Times Square and the listings of Apple and Microsoft. That business is now the smaller story. Two acquisitions rebuilt the company: Verafin in 2021, software banks use to spot money laundering and fraud, and Adenza in 2023 for about $10.5B, which bundles Axiom regulatory reporting and Calypso risk software sold to banks on multi-year subscriptions. Nasdaq now reports in three parts. Capital Access Platforms holds listings, the index franchise behind the funds that track it, and data. Financial Technology holds Verafin, Axiom and Calypso, the anti-crime and regulatory software. Market Services is the old engine, matching buyers and sellers in stocks and options and keeping a slice of the flow. The moat differs by part: the index and listings franchises are near-impossible to dislodge once a fund or a company sits on them, while the software rests on switching cost, a bank that wires Axiom into its regulatory filings does not rip it out lightly. What the customer actually holds is a renewal invoice.
The numbers
The shape to watch is the wedge between what the exchanges match and what the software renews.
| Quarter | Revenue | Net income | Diluted EPS |
|---|---|---|---|
| Q2 2025 | $2.10B | $452M | $0.78 |
| Q3 2025 | $1.96B | $423M | $0.73 |
| Q4 2025 | $2.11B | $518M | $0.90 |
| Q1 2026 | $2.14B | $519M | $0.91 |
| Q2 2026 | $2.53B | $507M | $0.89 |
Q2 2026 was the biggest quarter the company has printed, $2.53B, up 21% on the year. Read one line down and the story cools: operating income rose 25%, but net income grew only 12% and diluted EPS slipped to $0.89 from Q1's $0.91. The gap is below the operating line, heavier interest on the Adenza debt and a higher tax take, not weaker operations. The top line also flatters, because it carries pass-through transaction costs that net to nothing, so the 25% operating-income growth reads truer than the 21% revenue figure. On the adjusted basis management reports, Q2 came in at $1.07 against a $0.98 estimate, the fourth straight beat.
| Year | Revenue | Net income | Diluted EPS |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | $5.89B | $1.2B | $2.35 |
| 2022 | $6.23B | $1.1B | $2.26 |
| 2023 | $6.06B | $1.1B | $2.08 |
| 2024 | $7.40B | $1.1B | $1.93 |
| 2025 | $8.26B | $1.8B | $3.09 |
| 2026, 1H to Jun | $4.67B | $1B | $1.80 |
Across five years revenue compounded about 9% a year, from $5.9B in 2021 to $8.3B in 2025. EPS tells a bumpier tale: it fell from $2.35 in 2021 to $1.93 in 2024 as Adenza's shares and interest diluted the count, then snapped back to $3.09 in 2025 as integration costs rolled off. Half of 2026 is already $1.80, a run-rate above last year. Annualized recurring revenue, the metric management leans on, is shown only as a chart with no companion data table, so no ARR figure is stated here. What this memo believes that the tape may not: the operating leverage is real, showing at 25% at the operating line, and the print that settles it is whether net income growth catches up as debt paydown lowers interest.
Operating leverage is the market-structure tell, and Q2 shows both it and where it leaks.
| Line | Q2 2025 | Q2 2026 | Growth |
|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $2.10B | $2.53B | +21% |
| Operating income | $568M | $712M | +25% |
| Net income | $452M | $507M | +12% |
Management
CEO Adena Friedman sold about $58M of stock in two roughly equal sales in January and February 2026, plan status not disclosed in the filings available, so read it as neither clearly routine nor clearly a signal. Against that, Investor AB, the Wallenberg holding company and a long-standing anchor holder, bought $15.8M in February, the kind of buyer that adds for decades, not quarters. Capital return is turning up: buybacks ran $548M in the first quarter of 2026 alone, near the $616M spent in all of 2025, while long-term debt has been walked down from $8.9B to $8.5B since early 2025. The pay-versus-record read is clean enough, four straight quarters ahead of estimates.
How it fails or surprises you
Volatility normalizes. Market Services rode elevated options volume in Q2, industry equity-option daily volume ran 66.5M contracts against 52.5M a year earlier, and Nasdaq PHLX share climbed to 11.2% from 9.6%. A calm year pulls both back. If option and equity volumes revert to 2025 levels, the transaction line that pads recent quarters thins, and the software growth has to carry the whole result alone.
The software compounds faster (right tail). Verafin and the Adenza suite sell into thousands of banks that already touch Nasdaq elsewhere. If anti-financial-crime and regulatory-reporting subscriptions reaccelerate, recurring revenue re-rates the whole company toward a software multiple, not an exchange one. The market pays for an exchange today. The first tell is recurring growth stepping back above the mid-teens on the next ARR chart.
Net income does not catch operating income. Q2 shows the risk: operating income grew 25% while net income grew 12% and EPS slipped. If that wedge is structural, rising interest and tax rather than transitory, the leverage never reaches shareholders and 28 times earnings is too rich. Interest coverage sits at 10.5x, comfortable, but the gap is the thing to disprove.
Closing thoughts
The evidence points to a business already priced for quality, not a mispriced one. At 28 times earnings and 18.4 times cash operating profit, mid its own twelve-year range and above the roughly 14 times rivals fetch, the market has noticed the software transition and is paying for it. The edge, if there is one, is narrow and sits in operating leverage converting to net income as Adenza debt runs off, which the buyer on the other side discounts because they have watched the net-income line lag for two quarters. The fatter tail is modestly to the upside, the recurring mix genuinely reduces the earnings swing that has always capped exchange multiples, but the left tail, a volatility drought plus a stubborn net-income wedge, is real and would strand the multiple.
The bet is still that Nasdaq keeps becoming a software company banks pay every year, and that those subscriptions grow faster than the up-and-down exchange business. What breaks it is simpler than the story: watch net income growth against operating income growth. Two more quarters where operating income compounds in the mid-20s and net income trails in the low teens, and the leverage is not reaching the owner, whatever the ARR chart shows.
Methodology
Fundamentals from the filed 10-Q dated 2026-07-23 (period ended 2026-06-30) and prior XBRL company facts, in the largest clean unit. Q4 2025 is derived as fiscal year 2025 ($8.26B revenue, $1.8B net income, $3.09 EPS) less the first nine months.
Gross revenue carries pass-through transaction costs that net to zero, so operating income is the cleaner growth read; the Q2 adjusted EPS of $1.07 is management's non-GAAP figure, versus $0.89 GAAP diluted.
Annualized recurring revenue is disclosed by the company only as a chart with no companion data table, so no ARR figure is stated here; this was confirmed against the filing text.
Price, valuation and consensus estimates are vendor-sourced as of 2026-09-05; EV/EBITDA history spans 2014-2025. Insider figures cover a trailing twelve-month window; 10b5-1 plan status is not disclosed in the available feed.
Documentation prepared with AI assistance. Not investment advice.
Fact check: All financials reconciled to filed 10-Q/10-K XBRL. CEO sale ($58M, sum of Jan/Feb 2026 transactions) and 1H 2026 net income ($1B, sum of Q1+Q2) are quarterly arithmetic totals. Market share data verified to filing text. Zero errors. Final analysis verified as of Sep 5, 2026.
Bid Cap
Daily ideas, a 390-name database, and a model long/short book from an investor who mostly covers financials. $70 a month or $700 a year.
Subscribe on Substack


