QTCompany report
Q2 Holdings, Inc. QTWO
The bet you're really making is that small and mid-sized banks and credit unions keep paying Q2 to run their online and mobile banking, and keep buying more of it every year. You're betting they won't build it themselves and won't switch, because tearing out the app every account holder opens to check a balance is the last thing a bank ever does. Right now it is going well: the biggest quarter the company has ever had, sales up 13% and profit finally real at $30 million, with more of every dollar sticking as it grows. You pay 3.6 times a year's sales, less than at almost any point in the last twelve years, when it usually cost closer to seven to nine.
Key data
QTWO · price with moving averages
Source: market data.
The business
Q2 Holdings sells cloud digital-banking software to United States community and regional banks and credit unions: the branded website and mobile app their account holders open every day to check balances, move money and pay bills, all running on Q2's rails. The money is mostly subscription, $182.8M of the $219.8M booked in the June quarter, charged per registered user under multi-year contracts; smaller slices come from transactions (usage and interchange) and services (getting a new bank live). No single customer is 10% of revenue, so the base rests on hundreds of institutions rather than a few. The moat is switching cost: this is the bank's face to its customers, wired into the core and a decade of integrations, and ripping it out risks every login on day one, so banks renew instead. That is why a contracted backlog of $2.76 billion, more than three years of revenue, sits ahead of the company, about 54% of it landing beyond the current year.
The numbers
The story is operating leverage arriving on schedule: revenue climbs steadily while profit climbs several times faster.
| Quarter | Revenue | Net income | Diluted EPS |
|---|---|---|---|
| Q2 2025 | $195.1M | $11.8M | $0.18 |
| Q3 2025 | $201.7M | $15.0M | $0.23 |
| Q4 2025 | $208.2M | $20.4M | $0.32 |
| Q1 2026 | $216.5M | $26.6M | $0.40 |
| Q2 2026 | $219.8M | $29.9M | $0.46 |
Revenue grew 12.6% year over year in June and 13% across the half, the low-teens pace the business has settled into. What changed is what falls through: net income went from $12M to $30M on that 13% top line, and diluted EPS from $0.18 to $0.46. The Street's adjusted figure, $0.70, cleared its $0.68 mark; the one stumble in the last year was the March-quarter print, which missed.
| Fiscal year | Revenue | Net income | Diluted EPS |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | $498.7M | -$112.7M | -$2.00 |
| 2022 | $565.7M | -$109.0M | -$1.90 |
| 2023 | $624.6M | -$65.4M | -$1.12 |
| 2024 | $696.5M | -$38.5M | -$0.64 |
| 2025 | $794.8M | $52.0M | $0.80 |
| 2026, 1H to Jun | $436.3M | $56.5M | $0.86 |
Step back and the flip is the whole point. Q2 lost money every year from 2021 through 2024, turned $52M of profit in 2025, and has already made $56M in the first half of 2026 alone.
| Metric | Q2 2025 | Q2 2026 |
|---|---|---|
| Subscription revenue | $158.4M | $182.8M |
| Subscription, % of total | 81% | 83% |
| Gross margin | 53.6% | 59.2% |
| Operating margin | 5.0% | 13.4% |
Here is the engine. Subscription revenue grew 15% while total grew 13%, so the recurring, higher-margin mix keeps thickening. Gross margin rose 560 basis points in a year, operating margin from 5% to 13%. Cash generation is real, about a quarter of revenue converts to operating cash, though stock compensation near 10% of revenue takes back a large share of what the owner actually keeps. The market pays 3.6 times sales and about 21 times next year's expected earnings for all of it, against a twelve-year record that usually sat between six and nine times sales. What this memo believes that the market does not is that profit can keep nearly tripling on low-teens sales growth for another year or two, because the cost line still has room to fall as a share of revenue. The print that settles it is operating margin over the next two quarters.
Management
CEO Matt Flake has run Q2 for years and just made the balance sheet's biggest call: in the first half of 2026 the company paid off a $303M convertible note and bought back $120M of its own stock in the low $60s, the first real repurchase in its history against a token $5M in 2025. That drained cash from $368M to $100M and left working capital slightly negative, a bet on itself that also thinned the cushion. Insiders were sellers, not buyers: $32M sold across 36 transactions in the last year, zero purchases, including a $5.1M officer sale in August and a $4.6M Flake sale in March; plan status is not disclosed, so read them as routine until a Form 4 says otherwise. Pay tracks a company that has hit its adjusted number in three of the last four quarters.
How it fails or surprises you
Growth slips below low-teens. Revenue grew 12.6% in June, down from the 20%-plus of the company's earlier years. If bank IT budgets tighten or a large renewal churns, subscription growth drifts to high single digits and the leverage story stalls with it. Watch subscription revenue growth over the next two quarters; below 13% is the tell.
Margin leverage runs further than modeled (right tail). Gross margin gained 560 basis points and operating margin nearly tripled on 13% revenue growth. If scale keeps profit compounding at two to three times the top line, the $3.45 FY2027 consensus proves low and a 3.6x sales multiple re-rates toward its six-to-nine norm. Operating margin above 15% in the next two quarters would signal it.
The thinned balance sheet (the fact this read explains least). Profit tripled, yet cash fell to $100M and free cash flow to equity went negative, because management spent the war chest on the convert and the buyback. The strongest case against the leverage thesis is that they spent it near the top: if growth wobbles now, there is less room to maneuver than a year ago, with working capital slightly negative and the current ratio under 1.0.
Closing thoughts
The business grows low-teens; whether profit keeps compounding several times faster as the platform scales gets answered by operating margin over the next two quarters. Climb past 15% and the leverage thesis is intact and the decade-low multiple looks like the opportunity; stall near 13% and QTWO is a solid low-teens grower priced fairly, no more. The fatter tail is the upside, because the margin trend is already in the filings and the multiple already sits at the floor of its range, so the market is paying little for leverage that is visibly happening; what is genuinely at risk if growth cracks is the thin balance sheet, not the franchise.
The bet is still that small and mid-sized banks and credit unions keep paying Q2 to run their online and mobile banking and keep buying more of it every year. What breaks it is growth sliding to high single digits while margins stop climbing; the one pair of numbers that tells you first is subscription revenue growth and operating margin, side by side, over the next two quarters. If subscriptions grow mid-teens and margin keeps rising, the read holds; if both fade together, it is wrong.
Methodology
Sector frame: vertical software for banks and credit unions, judged on recurring-revenue growth, backlog and the margin ramp as the business scales, not on returns on capital.
Data gaps: Q2 2026 ARR, net revenue retention and subscription-only gross margin were not disclosed in the pack and are proxied by reported subscription revenue, RPO and blended margin; Q4 2025 quarterly figures are derived from FY2025 annual less the first nine months and tie out; H1 2026 diluted EPS ($0.86) is the sum of Q1 ($0.40) and Q2 ($0.46); subscription mix percentages (81%, 83%) and YoY growth rate (12.6%) are calculated from filed quarterly revenue splits; forward P/E uses non-GAAP consensus against a trailing GAAP multiple, so the two are not the same basis; net cash and working capital are read from the June 10-Q.
Bundle: built Sep 6, 2026 from company annual statements FY2021 through FY2025, the last five reported quarters through Q2 2026 (period ended Jun 30, 2026), plus live quote and consensus.
Sources: company SEC filings (10-Q filed Jul 29, 2026) and quarterly income, balance-sheet and cash-flow statements; a market-data provider for quote, multiples, insider transactions and consensus estimates.
Fact check: bundle financials reconciled to 10-Q filed Jul 29, 2026; revenue, margins, EPS, RPO, buyback, convert payoff, cash and insider sales verified line-by-line against filed XBRL; subscription mix and growth rates derived from quarterly revenue splits; Q4 2025 figures derived from FY2025 annual minus Q1-Q3; price-to-high approximation corrected from "roughly a third" to "about a quarter" (actual 27%); CEO name not independently verified (no IR page check completed this run). Final analysis verified as of Sep 6, 2026.
Bid Cap
Daily ideas, a 390-name database, and a model long/short book from an investor who mostly covers financials. $70 a month or $700 a year.
Subscribe on Substack


