RKOne Pager
Rocket Lab USA, Inc. RKLB
At $72.57 you are paying 54.6 times sales for a company that booked $602M of revenue in 2025 and lost $198M doing it.
The $42.0B market value is a wager on Neutron, because the launch and components business that exists today cannot carry it under any margin assumption.
Key data
RKLB · price with moving averages
Source: market data.
The business
Rocket Lab sells two things today. Electron puts a few hundred kilograms into orbit for defence agencies and commercial constellation operators, who pay per mission on contracts booked years ahead. Space Systems builds and sells the hardware inside other people's satellites: solar arrays, reaction wheels, separation systems, flight software, and increasingly complete satellite buses. Space Systems is the larger half and the reason there is $602M of revenue at all.
The economic engine is visibly working underneath the loss. Gross margin moved from 21.0% in 2023 to 34.4% in 2025 and 36.1% in the June 2026 quarter, on revenue that grew 38.0% to $602M and then 62.0% year on year to $234.1M last quarter. Backlog reached $2.36B at June 30, 2026, up 137%. What changed is that the components half started scaling faster than launch.
Business read. Two working businesses fund a third one that has not flown yet.
Things you might not know
Research and development cost $271M in 2025 against $207M of gross profit, so the development program consumed more than the entire commercial business earned. Losses held roughly flat at $182.6M, $190.2M and $198.2M across three years while revenue grew 146%, which makes the burn a fixed program cost rather than a widening hole.
The share count moved far more than the annual filings suggest. Diluted shares averaged 530.7M in FY2025 but 629.7M in the June 2026 quarter, and basic weighted shares were 641M including roughly 41M of Series A convertible participating preferred. Equity is the funding mechanism, and it accelerated sharply after year end.
Cash and cash equivalents were $2.13B at June 30, 2026, with marketable securities taking the total to $2.39B, against debt to equity of 0.04x at year end 2025. Set against roughly $270M a year of development spend, that is years of runway, so a near-term financing squeeze is not the live risk here.
Fundamentals
| Measure | QoQ | YoY |
|---|---|---|
| Revenue, $234.1M | +16.9% | +62.0% |
| Gross profit, $84.6M | +10.6% | not disclosed |
| GAAP gross margin, 36.1% | down 2.1 points | not disclosed |
| Backlog, $2.36B | not disclosed | +137% |
| Net loss per diluted share, $(0.08) | 0.0% | not disclosed |
Revenue is compounding fast and margin is holding in the mid thirties, though the June quarter gave back 2.1 points against March as mix shifted toward larger spacecraft work. Backlog up 137% is the strongest number on the page, because commercial pull has to exist before Neutron capacity means anything. Loss per share did not move at all.
Valuation
| Metric | Company | Peer median |
|---|---|---|
| Price to sales, trailing | 54.6x | not disclosed |
| Price to book | 13.1x | not disclosed |
| Price to free cash flow, trailing | n/m, negative | not disclosed |
| Gross margin, trailing | 34.4% | not disclosed |
| Net margin, trailing | negative 32.9% | not disclosed |
Comparison set: AST SpaceMobile, Planet Labs, Redwire, Intuitive Machines, Firefly Aerospace.
Peer medians were not pulled in this run, so the right column is honest rather than useful. The company column carries the point on its own: 54.6 times sales and 13.1 times book against negative free cash flow prices a rocket that has not yet flown.
Management
| Measure | Record |
|---|---|
| Capital allocation | No dividend, no repurchase. FY2025 R&D of $271M against $207M of gross profit, funded from equity and a $2.39B cash and securities balance at 2026-06-30. |
| Diluted shares | 481.8M (FY2023) to 530.7M (FY2025), up 10.2%. Q2 2026 diluted EPS denominator 629.7M; basic weighted 641M including roughly 41M Series A convertible participating preferred. |
| Insider activity (12mo) | On 2026-03-30 Peter Beck forfeited and cancelled all unvested RSUs, 392,155 shares, and cut base salary to $1.00 or the New Zealand statutory minimum. Open-market Form 4 detail not pulled. |
Compensation
| Horizon | Goals | Outcome |
|---|---|---|
| Annual cash, FY2025 | Senior Executive Cash Incentive Bonus Plan adopted 2025-08-25, paying on attainment of Corporate Performance Goals covering financial and operational measures plus individual objectives. Specific FY2025 metrics and thresholds not disclosed in retrieved materials. | Beck salary $800,000, cash bonus $0. Per the 2026-03-30 amendment he has no expectation of or entitlement to any annual bonus or Target Annual Bonus amount. |
| Latest completed long-term award, equity granted through FY2025 | Time-vesting restricted stock units. No performance metric or PSU vesting condition disclosed in retrieved materials. | FY2025 stock awards $6,030,680, total compensation $6,830,680. On 2026-03-30 Beck forfeited the entire unvested balance of 392,155 shares. |
The linchpins
Win big if
Neutron reaches orbit and then reaches cadence, which turns Rocket Lab into the second credible medium-lift provider in the West at a moment when constellation operators and national security customers have both stated a preference for a second supplier, and it does so while Space Systems keeps compounding at the 62.0% rate it just posted. The first observable proof is a successful first flight. The confirming signal is a funded cadence plan with named anchor customers and backlog growth above the current $2.36B that is attributable to Neutron rather than to satellite manufacturing.
Surprised down if
The first flight slips beyond the stated window while research and development stays near $270M a year, because each quarter of delay burns cash against a revenue base that cannot cover it and pushes the funding back onto equity that has already grown to 641M basic shares. The first observable proof is a schedule change on an earnings call. The confirming signal is another equity or preferred issuance on top of that count, or gross margin falling back below 34% on fixed-price development work, which is the common failure mode in this industry.
Last word
A $2.36B backlog buys a great deal of patience, though none of it launches a rocket.
Methodology
Compressed from the Back of Napkin note on Rocket Lab (RKLB), which sources FY2023 to FY2025 financials from the Form 10-K filed 2026-02-26 and trailing ratios from the market data vendor as of 2026-08-21; price is the 2026-08-21 close. Quarterly figures for Q2 2026 and Q1 2026, backlog, cash and marketable securities, and share counts are from Rocket Lab's Form 10-Q for the quarter ended 2026-06-30 and the earnings releases dated 2026-08-10 and 2026-05-07. Compensation and the 2026-03-30 employment agreement amendment are from the DEF 14A filed 2026-04-06 and the related Form 8-K. Price to book and net margin are arithmetic on figures already in the source note. Q2 2025 gross profit, Q2 2025 net loss, peer medians, specific bonus performance targets, and open-market insider transaction detail were not retrievable in this run and are marked not disclosed. Not investment advice.
Bid Cap
Daily ideas, a 390-name database, and a model long/short book from an investor who mostly covers financials. $70 a month or $700 a year.
Subscribe on Substack

