TGOne Pager
Target Corporation TGT
Written 2026-08-22. The company has filed a quarterly or annual report since, on 2026-08-28, so figures here predate its latest disclosure.
At $165.42 Target has doubled off an $83.44 low and still trades at 17.2x trailing earnings with a 6.1% free cash flow yield.
The contradiction the market has not resolved: margins are recovering fast while revenue has now fallen four years running, from $109.1B to $104.8B.
Key data
TGT · price with moving averages
Source: market data.
The business
Target sells a curated version of nearly everything through roughly 2,000 stores, to households that could shop cheaper elsewhere and choose not to. The merchandise mix splits between the frequency categories that generate the trips, groceries, household essentials and beauty, and the discretionary categories that generate the profit, apparel, home and seasonal. The company gets paid on retail gross margin, $104.8B of revenue in fiscal 2025, down 1.7% from the prior year.
The economic engine is the owned brand portfolio, more than forty labels Target designs and sources itself, which is where both the differentiation and the margin sit. That engine broke between 2022 and 2025: pandemic overbuying became an inventory glut, discretionary demand faded, shrink rose, and operating margin bottomed at 3.5%. What changed is the repair. Gross margin has gone from 24.6% to a trailing 29.3%, and operating margin from 3.5% to 5.6%.
Business read. The margin repair is working; the top line has fallen four years running.
Things you might not know
Free cash flow fell from $4.5B to $2.8B in fiscal 2025, and not because earnings collapsed: capital spending rose from $2.9B to $3.7B while working capital swung negative. The trailing figure has recovered to $4.6B. At 3.6% of revenue, that capex load is normal for a store base of this size.
Book value is $39.27 per share and all of it is tangible, with no goodwill propping up the balance sheet, which separates Target from most large retailers. Inventory turns 5.75 times a year, the clearest evidence that the glut which broke the margin structure in 2022 has actually been cleared.
Michael Fiddelke became chief executive on February 1, 2026, with Brian Cornell moving to executive chair, a split the board made explicit in the 2026 proxy. The 75% earnings beat reported on 2026-08-19, $4.11 against a $2.35 consensus, landed in Fiddelke's second quarter holding the job.
Fundamentals
| Measure | QoQ | YoY |
|---|---|---|
| Revenue | not disclosed | -1.7% |
| Gross margin | not disclosed | -30 bp, 27.9% vs 28.2% |
| Operating margin | not disclosed | -30 bp, 4.9% vs 5.2% |
| GAAP diluted EPS | not disclosed | -8.2%, $8.13 vs $8.86 |
| EPS surprise vs consensus | +59 points, 75% vs 16% | +71 points, 75% vs 4% |
Every fiscal 2025 line moved the wrong way against fiscal 2024, yet the trailing figures now sit above them: 29.3% gross margin, 5.6% operating margin, $9.67 of earnings against the $8.13 reported. The inflection happened after the fiscal year closed. Sequential quarterly detail is not in the source, which carries fiscal years plus the 2026-08-19 quarter.
Valuation
| Metric | Company | Peer median |
|---|---|---|
| Trailing P/E, diluted | 17.2x | not disclosed |
| Trailing free cash flow yield | 6.1% | not disclosed |
| Dividend yield | 2.77% | not disclosed |
| Trailing gross margin | 29.3% | not disclosed |
| Trailing operating margin | 5.6% | not disclosed |
Peers for context: Walmart, Costco, TJX, Ross Stores, Kroger. Peer multiples were not pulled in this run, so no medians are shown.
All five company figures are trailing, so the multiple and the margins describe the same period. At 17.2x earnings with a 6.1% free cash flow yield, the market is paying a modest multiple for earnings that have already climbed 19% past the $8.13 fiscal 2025 figure, and consensus of $10.29 by January 2029 says that climb is nearly finished.
Management
| Measure | Record |
|---|---|
| Capital allocation | FY2025 buybacks $408M, down from $1.0B in FY2024; dividends held at $2.1B; capex $3.7B, up from $2.9B, 3.6% of revenue |
| Diluted shares | 464.7M to 455.6M over four years, down 2.0%, about 0.5% a year |
| Insider activity (12mo) | not disclosed in the source report; Form 4 detail was not pulled in this run |
Compensation
| Horizon | Goals | Outcome |
|---|---|---|
| Annual cash, fiscal 2025 STIP | Net sales goal $108,567M; incentive operating income goal $6,362M | Net sales $104,780M, 51% of goal payout; operating income $5,140M, 32% of goal payout; committee approved a collective financial outcome of 42% of goal |
| Long-term PSUs, fiscal 2023 to 2025, period ended 2026-01-31 | Three equally weighted metrics measured relative to the retail peer group: adjusted merchandise sales growth, EPS growth, and average ROIC | Paid at 88.2% of the goal number of shares in April 2026; the fiscal 2025 interchange litigation gain was excluded from EPS and ROIC |
The linchpins
Win big if
Revenue stops declining while the margin repair keeps running, because a 7% operating margin on a $105B base is roughly $7.3B of operating income against $5.1B today, which puts earnings power well above the $10.29 consensus for January 2029. The first observable proof is the 2026-11-18 print, where comparable sales turn positive with traffic rather than ticket doing the work, against a consensus of $2.04 on $26.3B. The confirming signal is trailing operating margin passing 6.5% within four quarters.
Surprised down if
Margin stalls near 5.5% while revenue erodes another 1% to 2% a year, which caps earnings power and then walks it down with the top line, leaving the 6.1% free cash flow yield as the entire return from a 52-week high. The first observable proof is the beat streak breaking on 2026-11-18 after runs of 4%, 13%, 16% and 75%. The confirming signal is repurchases staying near the $408M pace instead of accelerating.
Last word
Four straight years of falling revenue, and the stock still doubled from $83.44; the doors, not the margins, are the story.
Methodology
Compressed from the Back of Napkin on Target dated 2026-08-22, which draws on Target's Form 10-K filed 2026-03-11 for the year ended 2026-01-31, prior annual filings, and vendor trailing figures and consensus as of 2026-08-21. Compensation goals and outcomes and the CEO transition come from Target's 2026 proxy statement, DEF 14A dated 2026-04-26, retrieved via corporate.target.com and SEC search results. Insider Form 4 activity and peer multiples were not pulled in this run and are shown as not disclosed rather than estimated. Free cash flow is operating cash flow less purchases of property and equipment as reported. Not investment advice.
Bid Cap
Daily ideas, a 390-name database, and a model long/short book from an investor who mostly covers financials. $70 a month or $700 a year.
Subscribe on Substack

