WECompany report
WEX Inc. WEX
The bet you're really making is that trucks and vans keep burning fuel, and WEX keeps taking a small cut of nearly every gallon its fleet customers pump. You're betting that electric vehicles do not empty its fuel-card business before its two newer arms, virtual cards for corporate travel and health-savings accounts, grow big enough to carry it. Right now it is going well: the biggest quarter in the company's history, revenue up 14% and profit up 59%, though the money set aside for customers who might not pay rose by half. You pay about 19 times earnings, less than the 22-to-36 times it usually cost over the past twelve years, and cheaper than rivals near two dozen.
Key data
WEX · price with moving averages
Source: market data.
The business
WEX sells three things. The largest is fuel cards: a fleet manager hands drivers a WEX card, every fill-up runs across WEX's network, and WEX collects a fee on the gallons pumped, plus late fees and interest when customers carry a balance. The second is corporate payments, single-use virtual card numbers companies use to pay suppliers and, heavily, travel bookings. The third is benefits, where WEX runs health-savings and flexible-spending accounts for employers and sits on the cash balances inside them. Underneath all three is WEX Bank, a Utah-chartered industrial bank that funds the card receivables with deposits and earns interest on customer float. The moat is the closed loop and the switching cost once a fleet's fuel controls, spend limits and reporting live inside WEX. What ties the bet together is that two of the three businesses are growing fast enough to outrun the slow question mark over fuel cards in an electrifying world.
The numbers
| Quarter | Revenue | Net income | Diluted EPS |
|---|---|---|---|
| Q2 2025 | $659.6M | $68.1M | $1.98 |
| Q3 2025 | $691.8M | $80.3M | $2.30 |
| Q4 2025 | $672.8M | $84.2M | $2.38 |
| Q1 2026 | $673.8M | $77.7M | $2.22 |
| Q2 2026 | $753.5M | $108.5M | $3.11 |
The sequence turned up hard in Q2. Revenue jumped to $753.5M, up 14% on the year and the biggest quarter WEX has printed, with payment-processing revenue up 21% and finance fees up 27%. Net income rose 59%. Adjusted earnings of $5.35 beat the $5.08 the Street looked for, the fourth straight quarter above estimates. The worry one quarter ago was that fleet-fuel growth would fade once the summer driving calendar passed and pull total growth below 6%; instead Q2 accelerated to its fastest in the window, so that threat has not landed. The catch sits one line down in the cost stack.
| Provision for credit losses |
|---|
| Q2 2025: $21.5M |
| Q2 2026: $33.0M |
| 1H 2025: $37.4M |
| 1H 2026: $62.3M |
WEX set aside $33.0M for credit losses in Q2, up 53% from a year earlier, and $62.3M across the first half against $37.4M. That is the fastest-rising cost in the business, and for a company that is part bank, it is the number deciding whether the revenue gains reach the bottom line.
| Fiscal year | Revenue | Net income | Diluted EPS |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 | $2.4B | $167.2M | $4.50 |
| 2023 | $2.5B | $266.6M | $6.16 |
| 2024 | $2.6B | $309.6M | $7.50 |
| 2025 | $2.7B | $304.1M | $8.47 |
| 2026, 1H to Jun | $1.4B | $186.2M | $5.33 |
Across the window the compounding is real but uneven. Revenue grew about 4% a year from 2022 to 2025, while net income compounded near 22% and EPS near 23%. The gap is the tell: net income was actually flat between 2024 and 2025, yet EPS still climbed 13%. Buybacks did that work, about $800M in 2025 on top of $652M in 2024, shrinking the share count, then nothing in the first quarter of 2026. On company-adjusted earnings, which strip acquisition intangibles, the stock is near 10 times this year's estimate; on reported earnings, about 19 times. The market prices WEX as a fuel-card business quietly dying, which is why it fetches 19 times against two dozen for peers and why consensus sees earnings up only 6% next year. The read here is that payment processing accelerating to 21% is the market being slow, and the print that settles it is two more quarters above 15% with the provision not eating the gain.
Management
Read the record, not the bio. Insiders have been net sellers: about $8.2M sold over the past year against a single $214k purchase, and CEO Melissa Smith sold roughly $5.3M across three lots on September 1. Plan status is not disclosed in the filings pulled, so whether those were pre-scheduled or discretionary is unknown, and a September lump does not tell you which. Pay leans on that same adjusted earnings figure that runs almost double reported profit. The capital story is buybacks: $1.45B repurchased across 2024 and 2025, then a full pause in early 2026, which either signals discipline on price or a pivot to paying down the bank's leverage. The guidance record is clean, four straight quarters ahead.
How it fails or surprises you
Credit cracks first (downside). The provision jumped to $33.0M in Q2 from $21.5M, faster than revenue. Many fleet customers are small trucking and service firms; if a slowing economy hits them, charge-offs at WEX Bank climb and the provision keeps outrunning revenue. Watch it: another half-on-half jump like $37.4M to $62.3M turns the beat into a miss.
The float taketh (downside). A chunk of profit is interest earned on customer and HSA balances, now $1.16B of cash at the bank, and it is rate-sensitive. If the Fed cuts through 2027, that income falls with no volume offset and benefits quietly gets less profitable while its account count still grows.
The decline that never comes (right tail). The whole discount rests on fuel cards fading. If commercial-fleet electrification stays slow, which heavy trucks suggest, and payments plus benefits keep compounding double digits, a 19-times stock re-rates toward peers' 24 and its own 22-to-36 history. That move alone is worth more than 30% before a dollar of extra earnings. The print: payment-processing growth holding above 15% for a year.
Closing thoughts
Two quarterly numbers settle it: payment-processing growth and the credit provision. They pull opposite ways, one says the business is accelerating and cheap, the other says a slowing economy is starting to cost it. The fatter tail is the upside, because the valuation already assumes decline while the revenue line says the opposite, so a re-rate needs only the absence of disaster, not heroics. What is genuinely at risk if credit breaks is a year or two of flat earnings while provisions catch up, painful but not permanent for a company earning north of $300M and still buying back stock. Against a multiple that could travel from 19 back toward its own 22-to-36 range, the balance leans favorable, and that is judgment, not arithmetic.
The bet is still that trucks and vans keep burning fuel and WEX keeps clipping a fee on the gallons, while corporate payments and health accounts grow up fast enough to make electrification a slow problem rather than a fatal one. It breaks if the money set aside for bad debt keeps climbing faster than revenue: the pair to watch is the credit provision against payment-processing growth, and the day the first pushes through 20% while the second slips under 10%, the cheap stock was cheap for a reason.
Methodology
Sector frame: judged as a payments processor with an embedded industrial bank (WEX Bank), against fuel-card and corporate-spend peers near 24x, with float income treated as recurring but rate-sensitive. Data gaps: Q4 2025 derived as fiscal 2025 less the nine months; Q4 2025 and Q2 2026 segment-level revenue not in this pull, so segment mix is described qualitatively; forward multiple uses company-adjusted EPS alongside reported. Bundle: quote, as-filed XBRL series, consensus, and insider ledger pulled this run; multiples derived from those figures. Sources: SEC filings and company releases through the Q2 2026 10-Q filed Jul 23, 2026. Fact check: revenue, net income, EPS, provision, buybacks and insider activity reconciled to the 10-Q and evidence pack; trailing P/E derived as $193.91 / $10.01 TTM diluted EPS ≈ 19x, confirmed against vendor 19.3x; CEO name Melissa Smith supported by Form 4 insider sales dated 2026-09-01 (indirect verification, IR page not accessed this run); estimate-beat claim corrected from "eighth" to "fourth" straight quarter (consensus data spans only 4 quarters); plan status on CEO sales not disclosed in filings pulled. Final analysis verified as of Sep 6, 2026.
Bid Cap
Daily ideas, a 390-name database, and a model long/short book from an investor who mostly covers financials. $70 a month or $700 a year.
Subscribe on Substack


