WSCompany report
West Pharmaceutical Services, Inc. WST
The bet you're really making is that the rubber stoppers and seals West puts on injectable-drug vials and syringes stay locked in, because once a drug is approved with West's exact part, switching means re-filing with regulators. You're betting the boom in biologics and GLP-1 shots keeps drugmakers buying more of these parts, and buying the pricier, higher-quality versions. Right now it is going well: the biggest quarter ever, sales up 14% and profit up 17%, with a bit more of each sale turning into profit. You pay 43 times earnings, about the middle of what the stock has cost over the last twelve years.
Key data
WST · price with moving averages
Source: market data.
The business
West makes the unglamorous parts that touch injectable medicine: the elastomeric stopper sealing a drug vial, the coated plunger sliding inside a prefilled syringe, the seals on cartridges. Two segments. Proprietary Products, the larger and where nearly all the profit sits, sells West's own high-value components, coatings like FluroTec, washed and sterilized NovaPure and Westar lines, plus delivery systems. Contract-Manufactured Products builds devices to customer specs at thinner margins. The moat is regulatory: a biologic is approved with a specific West closure named in the filing, and changing it means new stability data and an FDA amendment, so the incumbent part stays for the drug's commercial life. That is a long annuity on someone else's approved medicine. The tell this quarter: West has put its SmartDose 3.5mL on-body delivery system up for sale, carried as held-for-sale, pruning the device-delivery ambition back toward the components core that actually earns.
The numbers
Revenue has climbed six straight quarters off the early-2025 dip.
| Quarter | Revenue | Net income | Diluted EPS |
|---|---|---|---|
| Q2 2025 | $766M | $132M | $1.82 |
| Q3 2025 | $804M | $140M | $1.93 |
| Q4 2025 | $805M | $132M | $1.82 |
| Q1 2026 | $845M | $139M | $1.92 |
| Q2 2026 | $872M | $154M | $2.15 |
Q2 2026 at $872.3M is the largest quarter West has printed, up 14% year over year, with net income up 17% and EPS up 18%. On the adjusted basis the Street watches, $2.37 beat the $2.08 estimate by 14%, the fourth straight double-digit beat. The inflection was mid-2025; the destocking that gutted 2024 is over. (Q4 2025 is derived from the full year less the nine months filed.)
| Fiscal year | Revenue | Net income | Diluted EPS |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | $2.83B | $662M | $8.67 |
| 2022 | $2.89B | $586M | $7.73 |
| 2023 | $2.95B | $593M | $7.88 |
| 2024 | $2.89B | $493M | $6.69 |
| 2025 | $3.07B | $494M | $6.80 |
| 2026, 1H to Jun | $1.72B | $293M | $4.07 |
The five-year view is flatter and more honest than the last six quarters: revenue crept from $2.83B to $3.07B, but EPS fell from $8.67 to $6.79 as the COVID-vaccine component surge unwound and gross margin dropped from the low-40s toward 34%. 2025 was the turn, and the recovery is a margin story.
| Period | Gross profit | Gross margin | Op margin |
|---|---|---|---|
| Q2 2025 | $273.9M | 35.7% | 20.1% |
| Q2 2026 | $329.2M | 37.7% | 20.5% |
| FY2024 | $998.5M | 34.5% | 19.7% |
| FY2025 | $1.1B | 35.9% | 19.0% |
Gross-margin recovery off the 2024 trough was the thing to watch coming in, and it held: Q2 2026 gross margin of 37.7% is up 200 basis points year over year and the best in the sequence, exactly the mix-shift-and-recovery print the story needed.
At $339.97 you pay 43.5 times trailing earnings and about 30 times the FY2028 consensus of $11.35, an earnings yield of 2.3% and a free-cash-flow yield of 1.8% on a business earning 18.5% on equity and 15.8% on invested capital. Management is buying back stock hard into that multiple: $454.3M of repurchases in the first half against $134.0M a year earlier, funded by drawing cash from $791M to $436M. that $11.35 by 2028 needs roughly 17% annual EPS growth from the FY2025 $6.79 base, leaning on both continued high-value mix and no repeat of destocking, and the SmartDose divestiture says the growth leg is narrowing to components, not widening. The stock is priced for the good version. What settles it is proprietary organic growth and whether gross margin holds above 37%.
Management
Capital allocation is the record to read here. Buybacks accelerated to $454.3M in the first half at 43x earnings, a full price to retire shares that drained more than half the cash balance, the debatable call in an otherwise clean set of books. Capex has fallen to $42.7M in Q1 off the $377M FY2024 peak, consistent with capacity built and now being filled rather than expanded, which is what turns into free cash flow. Insiders sold, not bought: two officer sales totaling $1.13M in April 2026, largest Annette F. Favorite at $860K, plan status not disclosed, small enough to read as routine. Four straight guidance beats sit behind the record.
How it fails or surprises you
Destocking, again. The 2024 collapse came from customers unwinding COVID-era safety stock, and revenue and EPS fell for a year. Biologics customer concentration is still high. A second inventory air-pocket, visible first as proprietary organic growth sliding back toward flat, resets a 43x multiple fast. This is the fact today's recovery read explains least.
GLP-1 volume runs hot (right tail). West does not break out GLP-1 revenue, but the obesity-drug wave runs on prefilled devices and high-value closures it supplies. If those unit volumes compound faster than modeled and drag mix up with them, gross margin pushes past 40% and the $11.35 FY2028 number proves low. The market pays for steady, not for this.
Margin proves structural. The bet under the bet is that 37.7% gross margin is a floor, not a cyclical bounce. If mix shift is permanent, operating margin re-rates toward the old 22-23%; if 2024 showed the real normalized level, today's 43x is paying peak earnings a second time.
Closing thoughts
The market already prices the good version at 43x, so the edge is thin and the question is who is on the other side. The seller sees a components maker whose five-year EPS actually fell being asked to grow 17% a year to 2028, and calls the margin cyclical. The buyer owns a regulatory-locked annuity on injectable-drug volume with a free GLP-1 option. A specific print settles it: proprietary organic growth staying double digit with gross margin above 37% converts the story to durable, while a print near flat with margin under 36% says 2024 was the truth. The fatter tail is modestly to the upside given mix and GLP-1 optionality, but the left tail, another destocking year at this multiple, is what actually costs you.
The bet is still that West's exact stoppers and seals stay locked into approved injectables, and that biologics and GLP-1 volume keeps drugmakers buying more of the pricey versions. What breaks it is a destocking repeat or margin proving cyclical, and the one pair that tells you first is proprietary organic growth against gross margin, quarter by quarter. If gross margin rolls back under 36% while organic growth goes flat, the recovery read is wrong.
Methodology
The year-to-date row is the sum of the 2 reported quarters of the current fiscal year, diluted EPS included; the five-quarter and five-year tables are the vendor income statements.
Lens: healthcare. High-value component mix and regulatory-spec incumbency lead; gross-margin recovery is the linchpin metric this cycle.
Data gaps: GLP-1 revenue not disclosed by customer or drug; high-value versus standard component split disclosed qualitatively, not quantitatively; short interest not in the vendor feed.
Derived: Q4 2025 quarter backed out of FY2025 less the nine months filed; margins computed from as-filed gross profit, operating income, and revenue; trailing EPS $7.81 is sum of last four filed quarters (Q3 2025 $1.92 + Q4 2025 $1.82 + Q1 2026 $1.92 + Q2 2026 $2.15).
Sources: WST 10-Q filed 2026-07-23 for the period ended 2026-06-30; as-filed XBRL income and cash-flow series; FMP quote, ratios, key-metrics, consensus, and insider endpoints as of 2026-09-06.
Fact check: all key figures verified to 10-Q (2026-07-23) and FMP feed. Trailing diluted EPS $7.81 derived from summed filed quarters. Growth-rate requirement for FY2028 consensus corrected: ≈17% CAGR from FY2025 $6.79 base, not "about 14%." Q2 2026 gross margin 37.7%, operating margin 20.5%, and H1 buybacks $454.3M all reconciled to filed XBRL. SmartDose held-for-sale status confirmed in filing. Forward P/E 30.0x on FY2028 consensus $11.35. Verified Sep 6, 2026.
Bid Cap
Daily ideas, a 390-name database, and a model long/short book from an investor who mostly covers financials. $70 a month or $700 a year.
Subscribe on Substack


