DECompany report
Diageo plc DEO
The bet you're really making is that people keep drinking Johnnie Walker, Guinness, Tanqueray and Don Julio, and keep paying more each year for the better bottles. You are betting the last two years are a hangover, not a new normal: volumes have slipped as shoppers buy cheaper and younger people drink less. Right now it is soft, with one thing to watch: net sales fell 3% to $19.6B last year while organic operating profit edged up 2%, and the company is partway through disposing of underperforming assets. You pay about 18 times trailing earnings, the cheapest this stock has been in a decade, when it usually fetched 21 to 24 times and once as much as 45.
Key data
DEO · price with moving averages
Source: market data.
The business
Diageo is the world's largest spirits company: roughly 200 brands sold in 180 countries, led by Johnnie Walker scotch, Guinness stout, Smirnoff, Tanqueray and Captain Morgan, plus Don Julio and Casamigos tequila and Crown Royal in North America. It sells through distributors and retailers, and the money is made on premium price, not volume, so one bottle of Don Julio 1942 carries the margin of a case of standard vodka. The moat is the brand shelf and the aged liquid behind it: whisky laid down years ago that no rival can conjure on demand, which is why gross margin sits near 60%. North America is the profit engine and the current problem, about a third of sales and the region where post-pandemic destocking and a cautious consumer hit hardest. Equivalent-unit volumes fell 1.3% from fiscal 2025 to fiscal 2026, to 227.1m from 230.1m, and price and mix have carried what little growth there is.
The numbers
Diageo reports in halves, not quarters. The last four, underlying adjusted earnings per ADS against consensus:
| Period | Underlying EPS | Estimate |
|---|---|---|
| H1 FY25 | $3.91 | $4.25 |
| H2 FY25 | $2.64 | $2.48 |
| H1 FY26 | $3.80 | $3.67 |
| H2 FY26 | $2.80 | $2.55 |
The estimate line is the quiet tell. After missing badly in the first half of FY2025, the company has cleared a lowered bar three halves running, most recently $2.80 against $2.55. Expectations were cut hard, and the business is now stepping over them. That is what a floor looks like on paper: low bar, small clears.
The full-year picture is uglier on top and steadier underneath.
| Fiscal year | Sales | Op profit | Net income |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY2022 | $29.8B | $5.9B | $4.4B |
| FY2023 | $28.3B | $5.5B | $4.5B |
| FY2024 | $27.9B | $6.0B | $4.2B |
| FY2025 | $28.0B | $4.3B | $2.5B |
Sales are gross of excise, and each ADS equals four ordinary shares. For fiscal 2026, reported net sales (net of excise) were $19.6B and reported operating profit was $3.2B; organic operating profit grew 2% despite the top-line decline. Operating profit has fallen from $6.0B in FY2024 to $3.2B in FY2026, a $2.8B drop over two years that reflects asset disposals and restructuring charges, though the exact breakdown between years is not disclosed in the available filings. Strip the exceptionals and the underlying business held: organic operating profit rose 2% in fiscal 2026 on a 3% net sales decline, because price and mix offset the lost units. The data gap flagged three days ago still holds: Diageo only recently switched reporting to dollars, so clean pre-FY2024 dollar history is thin, and fiscal 2026 XBRL has not yet been extracted, which is why the table above ends at FY2025 and fiscal 2026 figures are drawn from the annual report on a net sales basis.
This is not a compounder today, it is a stalled one priced as if the stall is permanent. Sales have gone sideways for four years and the one-year volume decline was 1.3%. But the cash is real: a free cash flow yield near 6.4%, and about $8B of cumulative free cash flow guided over FY2027 to FY2029. The valuation depends on which earnings you use. On the underlying number the business posted last year, about $6.60 per ADS, the stock is near 13.5 times. On reported earnings, depressed by the charges, it screens closer to 18 times, the low end of a twelve-year range that usually ran 21 to 24. Thin coverage puts FY2029 near 15.6 times. Every one of those sits low against its own history. the market is treating a destocking-and-moderation air pocket as a structural break, and the print that settles it is the volume line, not the earnings line. Price and mix have masked falling volume for two years, and that holds only until it doesn't.
Management
New hands on the wheel. The August 6 Capital Markets Day set modest, checkable targets: low-single-digit organic sales growth and mid-single-digit organic operating profit growth through FY2029, with EPS growth ahead of that. The honest read is the debt. Net debt sits near 3.3 times EBITDA, above the 2.5 to 3.0x target, and the stated plan is to sell the East African Breweries stake and the Royal Challengers Bengaluru cricket franchise, and lever back to the mid-point by FY2027. The US insider feed shows no open-market buys or sells, and the only disclosed dealings are small notifications by the chair, plan status not stated. No conviction signal to lean on, only a credible plan with numbers attached.
How it fails or surprises you
North America keeps sliding (downside). North America is about a third of sales and the swing factor. If volumes there keep falling into H1 FY2027 rather than stabilizing, price and mix can no longer hold organic sales positive, and the low-single-digit guidance breaks in its first year. Watch the February H1 FY2027 print: North American organic net sales and equivalent-unit volume.
The re-rate (right tail). At 18 times, the bottom of a twelve-year range, Diageo needs no growth to work. If the company holds underlying earnings near $6.60 per ADS and the disposals cut leverage on schedule, the multiple reverting to a normal 22x is roughly 20% upside, before the payout. The market will not pay for that while volume is negative and the plan is unproven, which is exactly why it is on offer.
Moderation is structural, not cyclical (downside). GLP-1 drugs, younger cohorts drinking less, and permanent down-buying might mean spirits volume never recovers. Two straight years of volume decline is the fact the "air pocket" read explains least well. If the price and mix split at H1 FY2027 shows mix decelerating too, the write-downs were early, not one-off.
Closing thoughts
H1 FY2027 volume settles whether this is a cyclical dip or a structural break. The fat tail down is that the two-year volume decline is the front edge of a structural drink-less shift, in which case flat underlying earnings quietly erode and 18x turns out fair, not cheap. The fat tail up is duller and, I think, more likely: destocking ends, a competent operator holds earnings flat, leverage falls on disposals, and a stock priced for decline re-rates on the mere absence of bad news. What is at risk if North America keeps sliding is a payout resting on a 6.4% free cash flow yield. What it is worth if volumes stabilize is a low-20s multiple on unchanged earnings. The odds favor the upside, but only for someone who can wait through more soft halves, and that is judgment, not arithmetic.
The bet is still that people keep drinking Johnnie Walker, Guinness, Tanqueray and Don Julio, and keep paying more each year for the better bottles. It breaks if they buy fewer units and stop paying more, and the one pair of numbers that tells you first is equivalent-unit volume against price and mix at the February H1 FY2027 report. If volume is still negative and mix has stopped rising, the air pocket was a floor giving way.
Methodology
Data: Diageo FY2026 annual report and Form 20-F (filed Aug 18, 2026, period ended June 30, 2026), preliminary results and Capital Markets Day 6-Ks (Aug 6, 2026), with FY2022-FY2025 as-filed XBRL; live quote Sep 6, 2026.
Bundle: price $89.19, market cap $49.6B, enterprise value about $70.5B; free cash flow yield 6.4%, EV/EBITDA 11.2x, net debt about 3.3x EBITDA.
Sources: company net sales, operating profit, volume and guidance from the FY2026 filings; sales, net income and diluted EPS FY2022-FY2025 from XBRL; underlying EPS and consensus from live market data.
Fact check: Corrected the write-down characterization (the $2.8B two-year operating profit decline reflects both restructuring charges and asset disposals across FY2025 and FY2026, not a single $2.5B FY2026 charge); clarified the volume decline as 1.3% from FY2025 to FY2026 (not "per year" over multiple years); noted FY2026 XBRL not yet extracted so fiscal 2026 figures are from the annual report net sales basis. All financial metrics reconciled to XBRL (FY2022-FY2025) and the August 2026 annual report (FY2026). Final analysis verified as of Sep 6, 2026.
Gaps: no quarterly data (Diageo reports half-yearly); dollar history before FY2024 limited by the GBP-to-USD reporting switch; FY2026 XBRL not extracted (table ends at FY2025); forward P/E rests on thin coverage (one EPS estimate); North America sales proportion and brand count not independently verified; peer multiples not used.
Bid Cap
Daily ideas, a 390-name database, and a model long/short book from an investor who mostly covers financials. $70 a month or $700 a year.
Subscribe on Substack


