BBCompany report
Build-A-Bear Workshop, Inc. BBW
The bet you're really making is that families keep paying $30 and up to build a stuffed animal inside Build-A-Bear's mall stores, and that the brand is strong enough to sell bears through other retailers, online, and overseas franchises too. You're betting that keeps growing even as fewer people walk through American malls. Right now it is going the wrong way for the first time in years: sales fell about 7% last quarter, online orders dropped 15.6%, and management cut its outlook for the rest of the year. You pay about 7 times earnings, near the low end of what this stock has fetched in the twelve years we can measure.
Key data
BBW · price with moving averages
Source: market data.
The business
Build-A-Bear sells a ceremony, not a plush toy. A child picks an unstuffed bear, watches it filled at the stuffing station, tucks a heart inside, dresses it, names it, and walks out with a boxed friend that cost far more than the same animal on a shelf. That premium is the whole moat: the brand and the in-store event let it charge $30, $50, often more, for something a mass retailer sells for a fraction. About 650 experience locations span more than 30 countries, a mix of company-owned, partner-operated, and franchised. The interesting shift is away from the mall. Management is pushing wholesale (its product sold through other retailers), licensing and entertainment, and international franchising, all of which earn money without signing a mall lease. That pivot is the optimistic half of the story in one sentence, and it is exactly the part that stumbled last quarter.
The numbers
Five record years ran into a wall this summer. The last five quarters:
| Quarter | Revenue | Net income | Diluted EPS |
|---|---|---|---|
| Q2 FY25 | $124.2M | $12.4M | $0.94 |
| Q3 FY25 | $122.7M | $8.1M | $0.62 |
| Q4 FY25 | $154.5M | $16.4M | $1.26 |
| Q1 FY26 | $125.3M | $18.3M | $1.45 |
| Q2 FY26 | ≈$115M | ≈$8.8M | $0.70 |
Q1's GAAP profit carried a one-time gain; on the adjusted basis analysts track, Q1 earned about $1.03 and Q2 about $0.70, both below the year before. Q2 is the real signal: revenue down about 7%, online demand down 15.6%, pre-tax margin down 220 basis points to 10.1%, gross margin down 340 basis points, and guidance moderated on wholesale deals that are slipping. That 340-basis-point gross-margin compression is still the entire story, and no filing since has landed to soften it.
The five-year record is genuinely good:
| Fiscal year | Revenue | Net income | Diluted EPS |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY2021 | $411.5M | $47.3M | $2.93 |
| FY2022 | $467.9M | $48.0M | $3.15 |
| FY2023 | $486.1M | $52.8M | $3.65 |
| FY2024 | $496.4M | $51.8M | $3.80 |
| FY2025 | $529.8M | $52.2M | $3.99 |
| FY2026, 1H to Aug | ≈$240M | ≈$27M | $2.15 |
Revenue compounded about 6.5% a year, but the line has flattened where it counts: net income barely moved across FY2023 to FY2025 even as revenue climbed $44M, and FY2026 first-half revenue is down about 5% year over year. The compounder is stalling at the top while the buyback keeps per-share earnings drifting up. What the market may be missing is smaller than a 7x multiple implies: the asset-light revenue that was supposed to offset mall decline just shrank 9%, so the cheapness is real and so is the reason for it. The print that settles it is next quarter's wholesale and franchise line turning back to growth.
Management
Capital allocation is disciplined and the record is clean: the company has bought back stock every year, $27.7M in FY2025 and $11.5M in the first quarter alone, steadily shrinking the count that lifts per-share earnings. Capex is climbing hard the other way, $25.5M in FY2025 and $15.4M this half against $6.3M a year earlier, funding an acceleration of new experience-location openings into a softening backdrop. Insiders sold about $5.1M across 23 transactions over the past year with zero buys; the largest seller was departing CEO Sharon Price John, whose exits coincide with June's leadership handover to the incoming CEO, and whose plan status is not disclosed in the feed. A founder-era leader handing the keys mid-slowdown is worth watching, not indicting.
How it fails or surprises you
The core keeps shrinking. Online demand fell 15.6% and consolidated revenue about 7% in one quarter. The mall-plus-web core is the profit engine, and if direct demand keeps sliding double digits, wholesale and franchise cannot backfill fast enough. Watch next quarter's online demand and total revenue: a second double-digit drop turns a stumble into a trend.
The asset-light pivot re-rates it (right tail). Wholesale, licensing, and franchise earn margin without mall leases, and the market pays nothing for that today at 7x earnings. Those lines fell 9% last quarter, but one strong wholesale partnership or licensing deal could swing them positive. Watch combined commercial and franchise revenue: growth turning up would reprice the whole story.
Spending up into a slowdown. Management cut guidance and accelerated capex in the same breath, $15.4M into new locations this half. If those units open into weak traffic and miss their payback, the growth spend becomes capital destruction. Watch capex against operating cash flow and any disclosure on new-unit productivity over the next two quarters.
Closing thoughts
Next quarter's wholesale and franchise number tells you whether this is a timing gap or a structural decline. The debate comes down to whether Q2's break was a wholesale-timing air pocket, as management claims, or the front edge of mall-core decline outrunning the asset-light offset. If wholesale and franchise turn positive, the asset-light pivot works and 7x reprices. An ambiguous print, flat revenue with online still soft, leaves you holding a 7x business with a stalling top line and a rising capex bill, which stays cheap until proven otherwise. The left tail is a structurally shrinking core; the right tail is a cheap brand whose licensing and franchise engine finally scales. At this price the downside is partly discounted, and a balance sheet with no revolver borrowings buys time to find out.
The bet is still that families keep paying up to build a bear at the mall, and that the brand travels beyond it into wholesale and franchise. What breaks it is the pair that broke last quarter: online demand down 15.6% and the asset-light revenue down 9%. If both stay negative next quarter, the pivot has failed and the multiple is right; if either turns up, 7x will look like a gift.
Methodology
Fundamentals from as-filed XBRL: five fiscal years through FY2025 (ended 2026-01-31) and the last five quarters through Q2 FY2026 (ended about Aug 2026). Q2 FY2026 revenue (≈$115M) derived from 8-K pre-tax disclosure ($11.6M at 10.1% margin); Q2 net income (≈$8.8M) derived from reported diluted EPS of $0.70; Q4 FY2025 figures calculated as annual FY2025 minus sum of Q1-Q3. FY2026 first-half figures are sums of Q1 and Q2 FY2026.
Q1 FY2026 GAAP EPS of $1.45 includes a one-time gain; the adjusted figure analysts track was about $1.03. Consensus EPS actuals run on the adjusted basis, the P&L tables here are GAAP.
Valuation history: 7.4x trailing P/E sits near the low end of a 12-year range (typical band roughly 7.6x to 19.5x), 17th percentile. Forward P/E uses the sole FY2028 analyst estimate of $4.26.
Insider and capital-allocation data (buybacks, sales, capex) from company filings and the management ledger; largest-seller attribution to Sharon Price John confirmed via 8-K dated 2026-06-12. Plan status of insider sales not disclosed in the feed. Incoming CEO name not fully verified in available filing excerpts (first name Chris confirmed, last name pending verification against full 8-K or IR page).
Revenue CAGR FY2021-FY2025 is 6.5%, not 7%; corrected from original draft.
Sources: company filings (10-Q filed 2026-06-11 for period 2026-05-02; 8-Ks dated 2026-06-12 and 2026-08-27), analyst consensus, and a third-party financial data provider.
Fact check: Bundle financials reconciled to filed XBRL; Q2 FY2026 revenue and net income derived from 8-K pre-tax disclosure; revenue CAGR corrected from ≈7% to 6.5%; incoming CEO last name not verified in available excerpts. Final analysis verified as of Sep 6, 2026.
Bid Cap
Daily ideas, a 390-name database, and a model long/short book from an investor who mostly covers financials. $70 a month or $700 a year.
Subscribe on Substack

