GMOne Pager
GameStop Corp. GME
At $18.21 GameStop trades at 1.40x tangible book, near its 52-week low, and $271.5M of its $418.4M in FY2025 net income came from interest on its own cash.
The filings now answer what the balance sheet is for: on May 3, 2026 GameStop offered $125.00 a share, about $55.5B, for eBay, and eBay's board rejected it nine days later.
Key data
GME · price with moving averages
Source: market data.
The business
GameStop sells video games, consoles, accessories, collectibles and trading cards through roughly three thousand mall and strip-center stores, taking cash from consumers at the register and earning a gross margin on each unit. The core software business is structurally impaired because games download now, and the pre-owned trade-in economics that once made this a high-margin retailer left with the disc. Revenue fell from $5.93B to $3.63B in three years, down 38.8%.
What funds the company is no longer the store. Repeated equity issuance into retail enthusiasm, plus convertible notes, built $8.37B of cash and investments against $4.34B of debt at 2026-05-02, and interest on that pile produced $271.5M of FY2025 income. Selling and administrative expense fell 47% to $890.8M, turning a $311.6M FY2022 operating loss into $285.9M of FY2025 operating income. What changed is the bid for eBay.
Business read. A shrinking retailer bolted to an $8.4B cash pile that is now hunting acquisitions.
Things you might not know
The eBay bid was not purely balance-sheet funded. The May 3, 2026 proposal was 50% cash and 50% GameStop stock, backed by cash and liquid investments of roughly $9.4B at 2026-01-31 plus a highly-confident letter from TD Securities for up to $20 billion of third-party acquisition financing. GameStop had already built a 5% economic stake from February 4, 2026.
Ryan Cohen takes no salary, no cash bonus and no time-vested stock. His January 6, 2026 award is 171,537,327 options struck at $20.66, equal to 38% of the 448.7M shares outstanding, vesting across nine tranches that begin at a $20B market capitalization and $2.0B of cumulative performance EBITDA. At $8.2B, nothing vests.
In the quarter ended 2026-05-02, operating income was $143.3M and net interest income was $83.7M, yet net income was $389.6M. That is $162.6M more than the two combined, before tax, and the release itemizes the balance only as digital assets, related receivables and collateral pledged for a derivative asset.
Fundamentals
| Measure | QoQ | YoY |
|---|---|---|
| Net sales, $835.3M | -24.4% | +14.0% |
| Gross margin, 40.7% | +5.7 pts | +6.2 pts |
| Operating income, $143.3M | +6.0% | n/m, prior-year loss |
| Net income, $389.6M | +204.6% | +769.6% |
| Diluted shares, 592.3M | +0.1% | +19.0% |
TL;DR: the quarter ended 2026-05-02 broke the three-year revenue slide, with net sales up 14% on collectibles and gross margin at 40.7%, the best in years. The sequential drop is the normal fall away from the holiday quarter. Net income of $389.6M is a record, and most of it did not come from selling anything in a store.
Valuation
| Metric | Company | Peer median |
|---|---|---|
| Price to book | 1.40x | 2.48x |
| Trailing P/E | 13.6x | 15.9x |
| EV/EBIT | 10.4x | 11.3x |
| Gross margin, TTM | 34.4% | 32.4% |
| Operating margin, TTM | 10.7% | 3.2% |
Peers: Best Buy, Build-A-Bear Workshop, Funko, Barnes & Noble Education. The P/E and EV/EBIT medians use three of four because Funko's earnings are negative.
The multiples look ordinary because enterprise value is small next to the equity. A buyer is paying a 40% premium to a fully tangible book that is mostly cash, and the operating margin gap to peers is largely interest and other income, not store economics.
Management
| Measure | Record |
|---|---|
| Capital allocation | No dividend and no buyback disclosed through the 2026-03-24 10-K; $4.34B of convertible notes issued; a $55.5B cash-and-stock bid for eBay delivered 2026-05-03 and rejected 2026-05-12 |
| Diluted shares | 304.2M in FY2022 to 549.1M in FY2025, up 80.5%; 592.3M in the quarter ended 2026-05-02, up 19.0% year over year |
| Insider activity, 12mo | Sales only in Form 4s retrieved: GC Mark Robinson 3,912 shares at $23.19 on 2026-04-13 and 3,957 at $22.62 on 2026-07-06 under a 10b5-1 plan adopted 2026-01-12, plus tax-withholding sales of 7,083 and, for PFAO Daniel Moore, 7,085 shares at $22.38 on 2026-07-01; no open-market purchases found |
Compensation
| Horizon | Goals | Outcome |
|---|---|---|
| Annual cash, FY2025 | CEO Ryan Cohen receives no salary, no cash bonus and no time-vested stock; Daniel Moore and Mark Robinson each on a $200,000 base salary against $1,950,000 target total compensation | Cohen paid $0 in salary and cash bonus; a formulaic annual cash bonus plan for the other named executives is not disclosed |
| Long-term, FY2024 to FY2025 award | Performance restricted stock approved 2024-09-05 for Moore and Robinson, intended grant value $500,000 per fiscal year, vesting on $50 million of operating profit excluding royalties in the United States segment | Not disclosed; GameStop reports FY2025 consolidated operating income of $285.9M but no United States segment operating profit excluding royalties. Form 4s show restricted stock vesting for both officers on 2026-04-01 and 2026-07-01 |
The linchpins
Win big if
The cash gets deployed into something that earns a return, which is now a live question rather than a hypothetical, because the eBay approach showed both the appetite and the financing capacity, up to $20 billion of committed interest from TD Securities on top of the balance sheet. The first observable proof is a signed definitive agreement with disclosed economics, or repurchases below the $13.03 book value. The confirming signal is operating income growing enough to cover the $271.5M interest line if rates fall, which would mean the earnings survive a rate cut.
Surprised down if
Rates decline while the pile keeps sitting, turning an $8.2B market value into a low-yielding closed-end fund priced at a 40% premium to its own capital. The first observable proof is net income falling back toward operating income as the interest line compresses, with the quarterly $83.7M of net interest income shrinking. The confirming signal is another equity raise pushing diluted shares above 592.3M, which would dilute cash per share again and repeat the pattern that took the count up 80.5% in three years.
Last word
A $55.5B bid from an $8.2B company is one way to answer what the cash is for.
Methodology
Source report: Back of Napkin, GameStop (GME), which draws on the Form 10-K filed 2026-03-24 for fiscal 2025, prior annual filings, the Form 10-Q filed 2026-06-11, and a market data vendor as of 2026-08-21. Quarterly figures in Fundamentals come from GameStop's own results releases for the quarters ended 2026-05-02 and 2026-01-31. Valuation ratios for GameStop and all four peers are from stockanalysis.com on a trailing-twelve-month basis as of 2026-08-22, so the company and peer columns are on the same basis; peer medians are my computation. Compensation and award terms come from GameStop's 2026 proxy statement, the company's 2026-01-06 announcement of the Cohen performance award, and the prior DEF 14A. Insider activity comes from Form 4 filings; the list is what was retrieved this run and may not be complete. The eBay proposal terms come from GameStop's 2026-05-03 release and eBay's 2026-05-12 rejection release. The source report was written before those materials were pulled and records no disclosed acquisition framework; that gap is closed here. The source characterized $1.82B of other current assets as consistent with a bitcoin position, which remains unconfirmed from filing text. Not investment advice.
Bid Cap
Daily ideas, a 390-name database, and a model long/short book from an investor who mostly covers financials. $70 a month or $700 a year.
Subscribe on Substack

