HDOne Pager
The Home Depot, Inc. HD
Written 2026-08-22. The company has filed a quarterly or annual report since, on 2026-08-25, so figures here predate its latest disclosure.
At $335.61 the market pays 23.5 times earnings for a company whose earnings per share have fallen three years running, from $16.69 to $14.23.
The setup turns on what management did with the money: $23 billion of acquisitions in two years, buybacks cut to zero, and a share count that is rising again.
Key data
HD · price with moving averages
Source: market data.
The business
Home Depot sells building materials, tools, appliances, and the rest of what a house consumes, through big-box stores and now through distribution branches. Roughly half of revenue comes from professional contractors and half from homeowners. The company gets paid at the register and on trade accounts, and the engine is inventory velocity: 33.2% gross margin turned 4.21 times a year, which is how a retailer converts thin markup into $12.6 billion of free cash flow.
What changed is where the money goes. Demand still runs on housing turnover, because people renovate when they move and they move when mortgage rates let them, and turnover has been frozen for four years. Management answered by buying the professional channel, spending $17.64 billion on acquisitions in fiscal 2024 and $5.41 billion in fiscal 2025 to add SRS Distribution and GMS. Distribution carries structurally lower margin than the stores, and operating margin has fallen from 15.3% to 12.7%.
Business read. A cash machine with excellent unit economics, now carrying a lower-margin distributor bolted onto it.
Things you might not know
Interest coverage has fallen to 8.7 times from the double digits Home Depot used to run, and financial leverage sits at 6.58 times. The debt was raised to fund distribution deals, and it means the next idea has to be funded out of the same $12.6 billion of free cash flow.
In the quarter reported on 2026-08-18, sales rose 5.7% to $47.9 billion while comparable sales rose only 1.7%, and US comparable sales rose 1.3%. Total sales grew more than three times as fast as the comparable base, which is what buying revenue looks like in a single print.
Consensus does not model a return to the old earnings peak quickly. The February 2029 estimate is $17.39, six years after the $16.69 earned in fiscal 2022 and only 4% above it. At $335.61 that forward year is 19.3 times.
Fundamentals
| Measure | QoQ | YoY |
|---|---|---|
| Net sales | +14.6% | +5.7% |
| Comparable sales | n/m | +1.7% |
| US comparable sales | n/m | +1.3% |
| GAAP diluted EPS | +45.2% | +4.6% |
| Adjusted diluted EPS | +43.4% | +5.1% |
The sequential jump from the first quarter to the second is seasonal and normal for a home improvement retailer, so the year over year column is the signal. Sales up 5.7% against comparable sales up 1.7% says the growth is bought rather than earned in the existing base, and adjusted earnings per share up 5.1% reverses the 3.7% decline reported in the first quarter.
Valuation
| Metric | Company | Peer median |
|---|---|---|
| Trailing P/E | 23.48x | 18.25x |
| EV/EBITDA | 15.60x | 12.96x |
| Price to free cash flow | 22.16x | 36.79x |
| Operating margin | 12.43% | 11.18% |
| Return on invested capital | 20.84% | 19.27% |
Peers: Lowe's (LOW), Fastenal (FAST), Tractor Supply (TSCO), Pool Corporation (POOL). All five measures trailing twelve months on one vendor basis as of 2026-08-22.
Home Depot trades about five turns above the peer median on earnings and nearly three turns above on EBITDA, and its 12.43% operating margin and 20.84% return on invested capital sit above the median on both. The premium multiple attaches to a company in year four of an earnings decline.
Management
| Measure | Record |
|---|---|
| Capital allocation | $23.05B of acquisitions across FY2024 and FY2025 ($17.64B, then $5.41B), funded with $8.79B and $1.27B of net debt issuance; dividends of $9.15B in FY2025, 72% of free cash flow |
| Diluted shares | 1,025M in FY2022 to 993M in FY2024, then back up to 997M in FY2025; repurchases of $649M in FY2024 and $0 in FY2025 |
| Insider activity (12mo) | Not disclosed. The source report did not pull Form 4 detail, and the SEC EDGAR insider index returned HTTP 403 on 2026-08-22 |
Compensation
| Horizon | Goals | Outcome |
|---|---|---|
| Annual cash, Fiscal 2025 Management Incentive Plan | Sales target $163.95B (50% weight), operating profit target $21.35B (30%), inventory turns target 4.51 (10%) | Sales $162.81B, operating profit $21.17B; paid 95% of target; E. Decker $2,657,631, R. McPhail $928,747 |
| Long term, Fiscal 2023 to 2025 performance shares, period ended 2026-02-01 | Three-year average ROIC (50% weight), threshold 33.3% and target 39.2%; three-year average operating profit the remaining half; threshold pays 25% of target | Company-defined ROIC was 25.7% in Fiscal 2025. Certified payout percent not disclosed in materials retrieved |
The linchpins
Win big if
Mortgage rates fall far enough to unfreeze housing turnover, deferred big ticket projects get released, and the acquired distributors carry that volume while store comps accelerate. The first observable proof is comparable sales climbing above the 1.7% posted on 2026-08-18 with big ticket transactions leading, the specific signal that deferred projects are moving. The confirming signal is operating margin stabilizing above 12.5% while earnings per share grow in fiscal 2026, with free cash flow back above $15 billion, which would restore the cushion under the dividend and let buybacks resume.
Surprised down if
Rates fall, turnover still does not move because the constraint is affordability rather than financing, and Home Depot is left carrying $23 billion of lower margin distribution revenue on a levered balance sheet. The first observable proof is comparable sales going negative through a full year of lower rates. The confirming signal is operating margin falling below 12% while revenue keeps growing, and the dividend payout ratio passing 75% of earnings, at which point the dividend competes with debt reduction and there is nothing left behind it.
Last word
Three years of falling earnings per share, and the buyback that used to fix that is now $0.
Methodology
Compressed from the Back of Napkin on Home Depot (price as of the 2026-08-21 close), which draws on the Form 10-K filed 2026-03-18 for the year ended 2026-02-01, prior annual filings, and vendor consensus and trailing ratios as of 2026-08-22. Quarterly figures in Fundamentals are from Home Depot's own earnings releases of 2026-05-19 (Q1 FY2026) and 2026-08-18 (Q2 FY2026); the 3.7% first quarter decline is arithmetic on the disclosed $3.43 against $3.56. Compensation goals, results, and payout figures are from the 2026 DEF 14A filed 2026-04-06; the FY2023 to 2025 performance share threshold and target ROIC are from the FY2023 proxy. The five valuation and operating measures for Home Depot and the four peers are trailing twelve month figures from a single public market data screen dated 2026-08-22, not from the source report. Direct fetches of sec.gov returned HTTP 403 and the proxy PDF did not parse, so Form 4 insider detail and the certified long-term payout percent are marked not disclosed rather than estimated. Not investment advice.
Bid Cap
Daily ideas, a 390-name database, and a model long/short book from an investor who mostly covers financials. $70 a month or $700 a year.
Subscribe on Substack

