MEManagement and incentives
Meta Platforms, Inc. META
$1 is Mark Zuckerberg's salary, and he takes no bonus and no equity, so Meta's pay plan is an instruction to the four executives below him: a bonus targeted at 200% of earnings, paid at a company performance percentage of 115% for 2025 that the board set by judgment against four unweighted priorities. Revenue is the only financial measure Meta names as linking pay to performance, and revenue grew 28% last quarter while operating income fell 8%, so no part of the plan asks what the growth costs.
Key data
META · price with moving averages
Source: market data.
What the pay plan says
| Element | What it is in plain words | Weight |
|---|---|---|
| Company performance percentage | One number the committee picks after the year closes, multiplied by salary and the 200% target | Sets the entire bonus |
| Priority: "Build awesome things." | Products shipped | Not assigned |
| Priority: "Make our business successful." | Financial results, revenue in particular | Not assigned |
| Priority: "Make progress on societal issues related to our business." | Safety, policy, regulatory work | Not assigned |
| Priority: "Go out and tell our story." | Public and press posture | Not assigned |
| Individual performance | Not used. Bonuses are based solely on the company percentage | None |
| Annual RSU grant | Stock that vests 1/16th per quarter for four years if the officer stays | No performance condition |
| 2025 equity grant | Initial equity value | RSUs | Grant-date fair value |
|---|---|---|---|
| Susan Li, CFO | $20.0M | 28,518 | $16.7M |
| Christopher Cox, CPO | $22.0M | 31,370 | $18.4M |
| Javier Olivan, COO | $22.0M | 31,370 | $18.4M |
| Andrew Bosworth, CTO | $22.0M | 31,370 | $18.4M |
The proxy publishes no threshold and no maximum for the company performance percentage, which leaves the committee's judgment as the only boundary. No performance condition sits anywhere in the equity, where nearly all of the money is. They vest whether revenue doubles or stalls. Staying is the performance condition. The absence of numbers here is ownership rather than drift, because Zuckerberg holds 341,823,978 Class B shares and 60.8% of the vote.
What three years of judgment produced
| Year | Company performance percentage | Revenue | Growth | CFO bonus paid | CFO stock award |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2023 | 150% | $134.9B | +16% | $980,049 | $21.5M |
| 2024 | 125% | $164.5B | +22% | $877,826 | $21.7M |
| 2025 | 115% | $201.0B | +22% | $2,275,673 | $16.7M |
The score fell three years running while revenue growth held at 22%, and the cash went up anyway. In February 2025 the committee lifted the target from 75% of earnings to 200%, which is why the CFO's bonus more than doubled on a lower score. The multiplier did the work, and no bar rose or held because there were never any bars.
Family of Apps costs grew 67% last quarter against 28% revenue growth, which is how operating income went backwards. Ad impressions rose 14% and price per ad 12%, but daily users grew 3%. No target is published, so there is nothing for the market to disbelieve. The only forward number the board owns is the CFO's guidance of $165B to $169B of 2026 expenses against $117.7B spent in 2025.
What they do next
What the company can no longer do is fund this out of pocket. First-half operating cash flow was $64.1B against $49.1B of property purchases, with 2026 capital expenditure guided to $130B to $145B after two upward revisions in one year. Long-term debt went from $28.8B at the end of 2024 to $83.7B in June, and no shares were repurchased in the first half of 2026 with $25.03B still authorized.
So the moves left are the ones needing no capital. Price per ad carries more of the growth than impressions as user growth slows. Headcount keeps falling while revenue climbs, since 8,000 people were cut in May and most leave the reported count by the third quarter. Legal matters get reserved in lumps, the way $2.40B landed in one quarter beside a reset expense range. And the repurchase line stays at zero while notes are issued instead, which moves this buildout onto the balance sheet and out of the year the bonus is scored, cheaper for the payout and dearer for the owner.
Zuckerberg has made no open-market sale since August 13, 2025, after disposing of 1,971,171 shares for $1.30B in the twelve months before that, and since then has only converted 834,030 Class B shares and gifted 1,231,037. Susan Li disposed of 167,000 shares for $105.7M across 46 code S transactions, Olivan $37.5M, Bosworth $24.3M. The owner stopped taking money out as the spending started, and the officers paid in units kept turning units into cash.
Closing thoughts
Meta pays four executives a number the board picks after the fact, mostly in stock that vests with the calendar, so no cost line appears anywhere on the page. That is why revenue can grow 28% and operating profit fall 8% in the same quarter without anyone's pay registering it. What slows this down will be the balance sheet, not the scorecard.
Methodology
Sector frame: Internet platforms; incentive lenses are bonus metric weights, equity performance conditions, payout range, and modifier mechanics; explicitly omitted are valuation multiples, price targets, and moat durability, which belong to Back of Napkin and Moat Dive.
Data gaps: the Bonus Plan's threshold and maximum company performance percentage are not disclosed in the DEF 14A; no weighting or dollar allocation is published for any of the four company priorities; the 2026 company priorities and 2026 target bonus percentage are not disclosed in the Apr 16, 2026 proxy.
Bundle: state/META_context.json · Filing anchor: DEF 14A (filed Apr 16, 2026).
Sources: Meta Platforms DEF 14A filed Apr 16, 2026, Apr 17, 2025, and Apr 19, 2024 (CIK 0001326801); FY2025 Form 10-K filed Jan 29, 2026; Q2 2026 Form 10-Q filed Jul 30, 2026; Form 8-K and Exhibit 99.1 filed Jul 29, 2026; 168 Forms 4 filed Sep 16, 2025 through Sep 16, 2026 plus Zuckerberg's Forms 4 for the prior twelve months, parsed from raw XML.
Fact check: every compensation figure, company performance percentage, priority list, RSU term, and payout reconciled line by line to the three proxies; revenue, segment income, capital expenditure, debt, headcount, repurchase, and cash-flow figures reconciled to the FY2025 10-K and Q2 2026 10-Q; expense and capital expenditure guidance reconciled to the Jul 29, 2026 8-K; all bonus payout arithmetic recomputed and tied to the disclosed amounts; insider transaction codes and share counts tallied from raw Form 4 XML with issuer CIK verified on every document.
Bid Cap
Daily ideas, a 390-name database, and a model long/short book from an investor who mostly covers financials. $70 a month or $700 a year.
Subscribe on Substack

