ADManagement and incentives
Adobe Inc. ADBE
Adobe paid Shantanu Narayen $51.2 million for fiscal 2025, and over 90% of his target package was equity graded on two things: the new subscription dollars Adobe adds each year, and whether the stock beats the Nasdaq 100 over three calendar years. The stock half paid 41% and then 45% in the two most recent closed cycles and all three open windows sit underwater, so the pay now rides on the subscription number alone, which points to price increases, paid AI tiers and free-to-paid conversion rather than deals, because the plan strips acquisitions out.
Key data
ADBE · price with moving averages
Source: market data.
What the plan pays for
| Element | Weight | What it means in plain words | Range |
|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | Gate, in a matrix with earnings | Total money billed and recognized in the year | Both gates must clear 95% of target or the cash pays zero |
| Non-GAAP diluted earnings per share | Gate, in a matrix with revenue | Profit per share after adding back the cost of the stock Adobe pays its own people, $4.62 of the $20.94 reported for FY2025 | Financial result 0% to 130% |
| Strategic performance adjustment | Up to 25 points either way | The committee's own hand on the dial, applied after the formula | Cash capped at 155% of target |
| Relative stockholder return | 50% of performance shares | Where Adobe's three-year stock return ranks against the Nasdaq 100 | 0% below the 25th percentile, 38% at the 25th, 100% at the 55th, 158% at the 75th, 200% at the 90th, capped at 100% if the absolute return is negative |
| Net new sales | 50% of performance shares, in three annual slices of 16.67% | New recurring subscription dollars added in the year, with acquisitions and currency swings removed | FY2025 slice: 0% at 94.4% of target, 75% at 100%, 100% at 104%, 150% at 109.5%, 200% at 112.3% |
| Time-based RSUs | 30% of CEO equity | Shares for staying, vesting 6.25% each quarter over four years | Not performance graded |
There are no individual goals. Deleting that bucket for fiscal 2025 cut the cash maximum from 200% to 155% and pushed the package further onto equity. The two equity gates tell the operator to add recurring revenue organically and to out-rank ninety-odd large technology companies on share price. Only the first is his to control.
What it has paid
| Fiscal year | Revenue bar for 100% performance | Revenue actual | Earnings bar | Earnings actual | Cash payout | Net new sales bar | Net new sales actual | Slice payout |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2023 | not disclosed | $19.4B | not disclosed | $16.07 | 100% | $2.17B | $2.34B | 133% |
| 2024 | $21.4B | $21.5B | $17.80 | $18.42 | 98% | $2.34B | $2.53B | 132% |
| 2025 | $23.4B | $23.8B | $20.35 | $20.94 | 104% | $2.43B | $2.52B | 99% |
| 2026 | not disclosed | open | not disclosed | open | open | not disclosed | open | open |
| Cycle | Return window | Start 90-day average | Where it ended | Percentile rank | Return payout | Cycle overall |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 program | through Dec 1, 2023 | not disclosed | below the 55th percentile | not disclosed | single metric | 83% |
| 2022 program | CY2022 to CY2024 | $625.83 | $494.83, minus 21% | 26th of 96 | 41% | 79% |
| 2023 program | CY2023 to CY2025 | $319.83 | $339.85, plus 6% | 28th of 96 | 45% | 83% |
| 2024 program | CY2024 to CY2026 | $577.65 | open, $251.59 spot, minus 56% | open | open | open |
| 2025 program | CY2025 to CY2027 | $494.83 | open, $251.59 spot, minus 49% | open | open | open |
| 2026 program | CY2026 to CY2028 | $339.85 | open, $251.59 spot, minus 26% | open | open | open |
The cash bars are real. Revenue and earnings targets rose about ten percent above the prior year's actual in each of the last two years, and clearing only Adobe's own guidance midpoint pays 95%, not 100%. The equity bar is a different animal. The fiscal 2025 net new sales target sat 3.8% below what the company had already delivered, while the curve tightened so anything under 94.4% of target paid nothing. Same dollars in, a third less stock out: $2.53B paid 132% in fiscal 2024 and $2.52B paid 99% in fiscal 2025. Every live return window sits 26% to 56% under its start, so the negative-return cap binds all three and the 25th-percentile floor is the live risk, not the 55th-percentile target. The April pay vote carried by four million votes of 294 million cast.
What happens next
Capacity is not the constraint. On $10.0B of fiscal 2025 operating cash flow Adobe spent $11.3B on its own shares, added $25B of fresh repurchase authority in April 2026, and guides the diluted count to roughly 389 million this quarter against 427 million last year. What capacity cannot buy is the metric. Net new sales removes material acquisitions, so the $1.87B Semrush purchase that closed in April 2026, carrying about $480M of recurring revenue, comes back out of the number that pays. Consensus is no help: the street's $26.61B and $24.48 for fiscal 2026 sit inside company guidance, and the fiscal 2025 bar was that midpoint, so the bar and the street are one number.
| Move | Why the plan pays for it | What to watch |
|---|---|---|
| Price and packaging | A seat moved to a paid AI tier lands in recurring revenue with no new customer | Creative Cloud Pro and Acrobat named as growth drivers in the 10-Q while user counts stay flat |
| Free-to-paid conversion | Same metric, cheapest funnel, named by the interim finance chief on Sep 10 | Business Professionals and Consumers subscription revenue against the $1.93B to $1.95B Q4 target |
| Share repurchase | Supports earnings per share and the price the return gate grades | 9.5 million shares bought in Q3, with $26.78B of authority left through April 2030 |
| Announcement flow | Moves the price without spending capital | Whether AI-first recurring revenue, said to have grown over 150%, is ever given a dollar denominator |
| The discretionary dial | 25 points either way, no formula | Took six points off the fiscal 2025 cash, and can as easily add them during a handoff |
Narayen announced his transition on March 9, 2026 and hands the seat over December 1, yet his January 2026 grant of 106,672 target shares, his largest ever, runs on goals through fiscal 2028 someone else has to hit. A plan outliving the operator it was written for is an old story in software. The tape underneath is clean. Narayen sold 75,000 trust shares on April 28 near $243.50, about $18.3M, footnoted as tax and estate planning, not under a pre-set selling plan, seven weeks after his exit was public. No other officer disposed of more than 3,000 shares in twelve months, the rest is tax withholding on vesting, and director David Ricks put $1.9M of his own money into 10,000 shares at $194.51 on June 25.
Closing thoughts
Adobe pays its chief executive to add subscription dollars and to beat the Nasdaq 100, and only the first can still pay him. The scorecard runs through one number just as that number decelerates, and the person who must deliver it is not the person the plan was built around. If those dollars grow in fiscal 2027 the plan works as written. If not, the committee's 25-point dial is what is left.
Methodology
Sector frame: Application software; the plan grades revenue, non-GAAP diluted earnings per share, ending annualized recurring revenue growth and three-year relative stockholder return; deliberately omitted are valuation multiples, moat durability and any view on the security, which belong to Back of Napkin and Moat Dive.
Data gaps: fiscal 2026 revenue and earnings-per-share bonus targets are not disclosed, the Jan 27, 2026 8-K stating only the 95% threshold with dollar targets due in the 2027 proxy; the fiscal 2026 net new sales target is not disclosed in that same 8-K; the fiscal 2023 revenue and earnings targets were never published in the 2024 proxy, which referenced an exhibit matrix instead.
Bundle: state/ADBE_context.json · Filing anchor: DEF 14A (filed Feb 27, 2026).
Sources: Adobe DEF 14A filed Feb 27, 2026, Feb 28, 2025 and Mar 1, 2024; Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 filed Jan 15, 2026; Form 10-Q for the quarter ended May 29, 2026 filed Jun 15, 2026; Forms 8-K dated Dec 11, 2024, Jan 27, 2026, Mar 12, 2026, Apr 21, 2026, Jul 17, 2026, Sep 8, 2026 and Sep 10, 2026; 67 Forms 4 filed between Sep 17, 2025 and Aug 17, 2026, parsed from raw XML; share price and consensus estimates from stockanalysis.com, Sep 16, 2026.
Fact check: every pay figure, target, attainment and payout percentage was read from the named SEC filing this run; insider transaction codes, share counts, prices and the absence of a Rule 10b5-1 flag were verified in the raw Form 4 XML; the say-on-pay percentage, the equity share of target pay, the open return windows measured against spot rather than the plan's 90-day average, and the plan-basis recurring revenue read are arithmetic on disclosed inputs and are labeled as computed in the text.
Bid Cap
Daily ideas, a 390-name database, and a model long/short book from an investor who mostly covers financials. $70 a month or $700 a year.
Subscribe on Substack

