MSManagement and incentives
MSCI Inc. MSCI
MSCI pays Henry Fernandez to grow recurring subscription sales and adjusted earnings per share, and to lift the stock faster than the market compounds. That means he will keep buying small data assets, keep the buyback loud, and keep pointing the story at AI and private assets so absolute TSR clears the bar.
MSCI · price with moving averages
Source: market data.
What the plan pays for
The annual cash bonus (AIP) and the long-term equity plan (LTIP) do different jobs. The AIP grades the year. The LTIP grades three years, and for Fernandez it is 100% performance-based, no time-vested stock at all.
| Bucket | Metric (plain English) | Weight | Range |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 AIP financials (80%) | Total Net Sales: gross new subscription sales | 40% | 0–150% |
| Revenue | 20% | 0–150% | |
| Adjusted EPS | 20% | 0–150% | |
| 2025 AIP individual (20%) | Culture and leadership effectiveness | 20% | 0–150% |
| 2026 AIP (new) | Fully formulaic on four financial metrics led by Recurring Net New sales | 100% | 0–150% |
| LTIP PSUs (3-yr) | Absolute TSR CAGR: stock price compounding | ≈50% of LTIP | 0–200% |
| LTIP PSOs (3-yr) | Cumulative Revenue + Cumulative Adjusted EPS | ≈50% of LTIP | 0–200% |
| 2026 RSU modifier | RNN performance goal over FY2026 | multiplier | 100–130% |
In 2025 the Compensation Committee lifted financial weight from 70% to 80% and set the mix as Total Net Sales 40%, Revenue 20%, Adjusted EPS 20%. For 2026 they went further, dropping the individual component entirely and making payouts turn on four financial metrics led by Recurring Net New. The direction is unmistakable: sell more recurring product, compound EPS, lift the share price.
The record
| Cycle | Bar | Actual | Payout |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022–24 PSUs (TSR CAGR) | 8% threshold, 10% target | NOT DISCLOSED | 0% (below threshold) |
| 2022–24 PSOs (Revenue + EPS) | Revenue / EPS targets NOT DISCLOSED | Revenue / EPS actuals NOT DISCLOSED | 100% |
| 2023–25 PSOs (Revenue + EPS) | Revenue / EPS targets NOT DISCLOSED | Revenue / EPS actuals NOT DISCLOSED | 151.1% |
The 2022 PSU cycle paid zero because TSR CAGR fell below the 8% threshold. The 2023 PSO cycle paid 151.1%: revenue and adjusted EPS both exceeded targets, delivering Fernandez 42,193 options. The pattern is honest: when the share price disappoints the operator gets nothing, when the operating result exceeds the operating bar the operator gets paid in full.
Pace against the 2026 bars
The current year reads well against every AIP metric. Q2 2026 diluted EPS was $4.69 up 19.6% and adjusted EPS $4.94 up 18.5%. Total Run Rate at June 30 reached growth of 12.0%. The 2026 AIP's new RNN centerpiece is being fed directly by the acceleration Fernandez cited on the call.
What he does next
The plan and the capacity point the same way. Cash flow is ample ($1.55B free in 2025) and the balance sheet already carries meaningful debt, so the next move set is not a large acquisition. It is more of what worked: bolt-on data buys like First Street to feed the RNN modifier, a heavy buyback tempo (nearly $2.5B in 2025) to support EPS and price, and a steady drumbeat of AI-and-private-assets product launches that lift absolute TSR without capex. Watch whether recurring subscription growth actually holds the 8% line, because the AIP now grades on it directly and the PSU pays only if the stock compounds through it.
The insider tape reads consistent. Fernandez bought 4,000 shares on May 15, 2026, costing around $2.0M. Independent director Ashe holds 22,290 shares via an Ontario entity controlled by the Ashe Family Trust. The February 2026 purchases referenced in the original analysis appear to reflect trust-restructuring activity rather than open-market buys. No material sales by Fernandez in the reporting window.
Closing thoughts
The board has quietly rewritten the scorecard to reward the two things this business must do to justify a 30x multiple: sell more recurring product and grow EPS. Fernandez owns real stock, buys more of it, and gets nothing from his largest award if the share price does not compound. A capable operator paid to keep compounding, watched by an owner who wants the same thing.
Methodology
Sector frame: Financial data and exchanges; recurring revenue share, pricing power and operating leverage decide it; volumes are noise.
Data gaps (top 3): 2022–24 PSU TSR CAGR actual result not disclosed in proxy; 2022–24 and 2023–25 PSO revenue/EPS bar-level detail not disclosed; February 2026 insider purchase attribution requires trust-structure verification not accessible via SEC filings.
Bundle: state/MSCI_context.json · Filing anchor: DEF 14A (filed 2026-03-11).
Sources: MSCI DEF 14A 2026-03-11 (CIK 0001408198); MSCI Q2 2026 earnings (2026-07-21); Form 4 filings Feb–May 2026; GuruFocus insider data; web search for compensation details and Q2 2026 results.
Fact check: FY2024 Fernandez total comp $15.7M verified (8-1); special 2025 PPO $15.0M grant verified with strike prices and premiums (3-4,3-5); Q2 2026 diluted EPS $4.69 and adjusted EPS $4.94 verified (25-1); 2023–25 PSO 151.1% payout verified; February 2026 Fernandez purchase originally cited as $3.1M open-market buy corrected to trust-transfer activity per Form 4 (24-1,24-6); May 15, 2026 Fernandez purchase of 4,000 shares verified (17-1,17-4); Munari $5.9M sale referenced in original not independently confirmed and removed; Ashe holdings verified as indirect via Ontario entity (16-4,16-5). FMP bundle financials spot-checked against DEF 14A summary compensation table. Critical claims (CEO name, compensation figures, Q2 results, insider activity) web-verified against SEC filings and earnings releases. Final analysis verified as of Sep 2, 2026.
Bid Cap
Daily ideas, a 390-name database, and a model long/short book from an investor who mostly covers financials. $70 a month or $700 a year.
Subscribe on Substack

