NVOne Pager
NVIDIA Corporation NVDA
Written 2026-08-22. The company has filed a quarterly or annual report since, on 2026-08-26, so figures here predate its latest disclosure.
NVIDIA sells the compute that trains and runs artificial intelligence, and at $214.72 the stock trades at 23.8 times what 31 analysts think it earns next fiscal year.
The whole setup turns on one unanswered question: whether the $394.7B of FY2027 consensus revenue is demand NVIDIA found or demand NVIDIA funded.
Key data
NVDA · price with moving averages
Source: market data.
The business
NVIDIA designs the processors that train and run AI models, the networking gear that welds tens of thousands of them into a single machine, and CUDA, the software layer most AI code is written against. The buyers are a short list: Microsoft, Amazon, Google, Meta, Oracle, and a newer cohort of AI-native firms building their own compute. Payment is upfront hardware revenue on enormous orders, revenue is concentrated, and the product cycle now runs about a year.
The engine is scale multiplied by margin. Revenue went from $27.0B in FY2023 to $215.9B in FY2026, operating income from $4.2B to $130.4B, and free cash flow from $3.8B to $96.7B, an 81% conversion in FY2026. What changed last year is the shape of the profit: pre-tax income of $141.5B now sits $11.1B above operating income, because NVIDIA is marking up equity stakes in private AI companies rather than netting out interest and other items.
Business read. A hardware business whose reported profit now moves with a portfolio of its own customers.
Things you might not know
The street already discounts the marks. Consensus recorded April-quarter earnings of $1.87 against the $2.39 NVIDIA reported under GAAP, a $0.52 gap that closely tracks the investment gains. That matters because the 23.8x forward multiple is computed on an operating number, while the GAAP earnings line is the one that flatters.
Total investments jumped to $110.7B at the April quarter end from $74.2B three months earlier, $36.5B added in a single quarter, while that same portfolio contributed $16.4B to pre-tax income. Investment outflow, revenue, and investment gain can be the same dollar wearing three hats, all of it disclosed and none of it improper.
Guidance execution is three for three, and that is the entire verifiable window. NVIDIA beat street earnings at $1.30 against $1.26, $1.62 against $1.54, and $1.87 against $1.76. Treat it as three quarters of evidence rather than a long streak, because the source provides no more history than that.
Fundamentals
| Measure | QoQ | YoY |
|---|---|---|
| Street EPS, latest quarter | +15.4%, $1.62 to $1.87 | not disclosed |
| Total investments | +49.2%, $74.2B to $110.7B | not disclosed |
| Inventory | +20.6%, $21.4B to $25.8B | not disclosed |
| Accounts receivable | +5.7%, $38.5B to $40.7B | not disclosed |
| Non-operating income, share of pre-tax | not disclosed | 1.2% to 23.4%, +22.2 points |
The April quarter is a working capital and portfolio story. Inventory rose 20.6% sequentially to $25.8B and receivables 5.7% to $40.7B, both consistent with ramping a new generation into enormous orders and both the first place a demand air pocket would appear. Investments rose 49.2% in three months, and non-operating income went from 1.2% of pre-tax profit a year ago to 23.4%.
Valuation
| Metric | Company | Peer median |
|---|---|---|
| Trailing P/E, diluted | 32.9x | not disclosed |
| Forward P/E, FY2027 consensus $9.01 | 23.8x | not disclosed |
| Free cash flow yield, trailing | 1.9% | not disclosed |
| Gross margin, trailing | 74.1% | not disclosed |
| Operating margin, FY2026 | 60.4% | not disclosed |
Peers: AMD, Broadcom, Marvell, Qualcomm, Intel.
The source report carries no peer comparison set, so the medians are left as not disclosed rather than assembled from mixed bases. On NVIDIA's own numbers, FY2028 consensus of $12.80 puts the stock at 16.8x, and stripping the April quarter's non-operating income and taxing the remainder at the quarter's 16.6% effective rate gives roughly $1.83 of operating earnings per share, near 29x annualized.
Management
| Measure | Record |
|---|---|
| Capital allocation | FY2026 buybacks $40.1B against $6.4B of stock compensation, more than 6x coverage; $0.4B net cash at 2026-04-26 |
| Diluted shares | 24,940M in FY2024 to 24,514M in FY2026, down 1.7% |
| Insider activity (12mo) | Forms 4 through 2026-08-12 show zero open-market purchases. Director Mark Stevens sold 885,000 shares on 2026-06-18 near $210, about $186M; director Stephen Neal sold 15,500 at $215.73; Huang gifted 400,000 shares and director Tench Coxe 1,000,000. Every officer transaction was shares withheld for taxes on vesting. Source window covers the latest quarter only |
Compensation
| Horizon | Goals | Outcome |
|---|---|---|
| Annual cash, FY2026 Variable Cash Plan | Revenue: Base Compensation Plan goal $130.0B, Stretch goal $160.0B, automatically adjusted down from $190.0B after H20 export controls | FY2026 revenue $215.9B, paid at 200% of target |
| Long-term, MY PSUs for the completed FY2024 to FY2026 period | Three-year total shareholder return relative to the S&P 500 | 100th percentile; CEO earned 150% of target shares, other named officers 200% |
The linchpins
Win big if
Demand turns out to be found rather than funded. The first observable proof arrives on 2026-08-26, four days out: revenue clearing the $92.0B consensus with gross margin holding near 75% and an October guide that steps up again, while non-operating income falls back below 10% of pre-tax profit. The confirming signal is inventory growth slowing below revenue growth, which would say the ramp is being absorbed rather than stacked. At that point 83% revenue growth on a 74% gross margin is being re-rated rather than de-rated.
Surprised down if
The portfolio and the order book turn out to be one bet. The first observable proof is a July quarter where revenue lands below roughly $90B or the guide implies sequential deceleration, while non-operating income holds above 20% of pre-tax income and total investments grow another $30B. The confirming signal is inventory rising another 20% or more into decelerating sequential revenue, which in hardware shows up one to two quarters ahead of the revenue line. The terminal version is slower: a top-five customer publicly shifting a majority of a training cluster to internal silicon.
Last word
Non-operating income at 23.4% of pre-tax profit is a lot of weather for a company that sells chips.
Methodology
Compressed from the Back of Napkin report on NVIDIA (NVDA) dated 2026-08-21, which sources financials from NVIDIA's Form 10-K filed 2026-02-25 for the fiscal year ended 2026-01-25 and Form 10-Q filed 2026-05-20 for the quarter ended 2026-04-26, insider transactions from Forms 4 filed through 2026-08-12, and consensus estimates and trailing ratios from a market data vendor as of 2026-08-21. Compensation goals and outcomes come from NVIDIA's fiscal 2026 proxy statement, Form DEF 14A filed 2026-05-12, accessed through a filing aggregator's rendering because direct EDGAR retrieval was blocked. Percentage changes in the Fundamentals table are computed from the as-filed dollar figures above. No peer comparison data existed in the source, so peer medians are marked not disclosed. Not investment advice.
Bid Cap
Daily ideas, a 390-name database, and a model long/short book from an investor who mostly covers financials. $70 a month or $700 a year.
Subscribe on Substack

