WMOne Pager
Walmart Inc. WMT
Written 2026-08-22. The company has filed a quarterly or annual report since, on 2026-08-28, so figures here predate its latest disclosure.
At $103.70 Walmart carries 37.4x trailing earnings and 61.1x free cash flow, and the distance between those two numbers is the whole story.
Four straight beats, the latest 9.2% above consensus on 2026-08-20, and the stock still sits 23.3% below its 52-week high.
Key data
WMT · price with moving averages
Source: market data.
The business
Walmart sells groceries, general merchandise and now services to roughly 90% of American households, and it sets price by being the largest buyer in most of its categories. Groceries are more than half of US revenue and supply the recurring traffic. Payment is mostly the old way, margin on goods sold, at a 25.2% gross margin and a 4.2% operating margin on $713.2B of revenue.
The interesting part is attached: advertising sold to the brands on Walmart's own shelves, commission on third-party marketplace sellers, a membership program, and fulfilment services sold back to those sellers. Those businesses grow faster and carry margins several times the retail base, which is what changed the multiple. Walmart does not break their revenue out, so the mix shift is asserted rather than shown.
Business read. A 4% grower with a 4% margin, priced for a mix shift it has not yet disclosed.
Things you might not know
Doug McMillon no longer runs Walmart. The 2026 proxy, filed 2026-04-23, shows John Furner succeeded him as President and CEO in 2025, with McMillon retiring from the board in June 2026. The $26.6B capital spending decision now belongs to a chief executive in a first full year in the job.
About 82% of the CEO's fiscal 2026 target pay is tied to operating income, sales and return on investment, per that same proxy. Return on investment sits inside the long-term award, which means the person guiding capital spending is paid on how well that capital earns.
Walmart runs a 0.77 current ratio and a 0.23 quick ratio, numbers that would frighten anyone reading a manufacturer. With 8.9x inventory turns and 66x receivables turns, it sells the goods long before it pays for them. Suppliers finance the balance sheet, and that is a feature.
Fundamentals
| Measure | QoQ | YoY |
|---|---|---|
| GAAP diluted EPS, latest quarter, $0.81 | +22.7% | not disclosed |
| Revenue, fiscal year | not disclosed | +4.7% |
| Operating income, fiscal year | not disclosed | +1.6% |
| Operating cash flow, fiscal year | not disclosed | +14.3% |
| Free cash flow, fiscal year | not disclosed | +17.3% |
Annual detail is what the source pulled, so sequential comparisons are unavailable except on reported earnings per share. The shape is clear enough: operating income grew 1.6% on 4.7% revenue growth, meaning margin went backwards, while earnings per share grew 13.3% on help from below the operating line and a smaller share count. Cash flow grew faster than either.
Valuation
| Metric | Company | Peer median |
|---|---|---|
| Trailing P/E, diluted | 37.4x | not disclosed |
| Price to free cash flow | 61.1x | not disclosed |
| Dividend yield | 0.94% | not disclosed |
| Operating margin | 4.2% | not disclosed |
| Revenue growth | 4.7% | not disclosed |
Peer set: Costco, Target, Kroger, Amazon, Dollar General.
Peer medians were not pulled in the source run, and this note does not fetch vendor comparables, so the right column stays honest rather than full. On its own numbers Walmart carries 37.4x trailing earnings and 61.1x free cash flow while growing revenue 4.7% at a 4.2% operating margin. The multiple is doing the work that the margin is not, which is the entire argument on both sides.
Management
| Measure | Record |
|---|---|
| Capital allocation | FY2026: $26.6B capital spending, $8.09B repurchases, $7.51B dividends, $4.88B net new debt issued; $15.6B returned against $14.9B free cash flow, a 105% payout |
| Diluted shares | 8,202M to 8,022M over three years, down 2.2%, about 0.7% a year; 8,081M to 8,022M in FY2026 |
| Insider activity, 12mo | Sales only in the Form 4s pulled: McMillon 19,416 shares on 2026-04-23 for $2,566,987; Bartlett 3,775 on 2026-07-01 at $109.64 and 3,710 on 2026-08-03 at $113.10; Nicholas 2,900 on 2026-06-18 at $118.19 and 2,900 on 2026-08-20 at $106.34. No open-market purchases found |
Compensation
| Horizon | Goals | Outcome |
|---|---|---|
| Annual cash, fiscal 2026 | Total company operating income and sales-related metrics; pays 0% to 125% of target, 37.5% if threshold met | Operating income 114% of target, sales 111% of target, CEO annual incentive paid at 112% of target |
| Long-term performance shares, most recent completed award | Total company sales and return on investment, measured in the first year of a three-year vesting period; pays 0% to 150% of target, 50% if threshold met | Total company sales 107% of target, 209,611 shares earned by McMillon; the ROI result was not disclosed in the sections retrieved |
The linchpins
Win big if
Capital spending flattens while operating cash flow keeps growing, so free cash flow expands toward $20B and 61.1x collapses into something a 4% grower can actually carry. The first observable proof is fiscal 2027 capital spending guidance at or below $27B against the $26.6B just spent. The confirming signal is operating margin moving above 4.4% as advertising and marketplace mix builds, because that is the first evidence the attached businesses are large enough to bend a $713.2B revenue base.
Surprised down if
Capital spending keeps climbing with revenue past $30B and free cash flow stalls near $15B, which leaves the stock near 55x cash for a business reinvesting two thirds of its cash flow to grow 4%. The first observable proof is a capital spending guide above $30B. The confirming signal is operating income growth staying below revenue growth for a second year, with comparable sales decelerating into a weakening consumer, which would remove the defensive premium as well.
Last word
Walmart earns $2.73 a share and generates $1.70 of free cash; the gap is wearing a hard hat.
Methodology
Compressed from the Back of Napkin on Walmart dated 2026-08-22, which sourced financials from Walmart's Form 10-K filed 2026-03-13 for the year ended 2026-01-31 and prior annual filings, with price at the 2026-08-21 close and consensus, ratios and the earnings calendar from the market data vendor as of 2026-08-22. Compensation and CEO succession fields, absent from that source, come from Walmart's DEF 14A filed 2026-04-23, read through Walmart's investor relations mirror of the filing and the SEC-hosted document; direct SEC page requests returned HTTP 403 in this session, so the annual incentive and performance share payout percentages come from the search index of that same sec.gov proxy and should be confirmed against the executive compensation tables. Insider figures come from Walmart Form 4 filings dated 2026. Peer medians, quarterly balance sheet and cash flow detail, and advertising and marketplace revenue were not pulled and are marked not disclosed rather than estimated. Not investment advice.
Bid Cap
Daily ideas, a 390-name database, and a model long/short book from an investor who mostly covers financials. $70 a month or $700 a year.
Subscribe on Substack

